Skip to main content
The Official Web Site of the State of South Carolina

Governing Board

The Board is composed of five public members, one of whom must be a CPA and one an attorney. The public members are elected in a joint session of the General Assembly and serve six-year terms. Only the public members can vote on issues relating to audits or personnel.

Four legislative members also serve ex officio on the Board. Members serving ex officio are the chairmen of the Senate and House Judiciary Committees, and the Senate Finance and House Ways and Means Committees, or designees chosen by them from committee membership. 

When the Legislative Audit Council was established in 1975 under S.C. Code §2-15-10 et seq., the South Carolina General Assembly intended that it be free from partisan politics. Thus, by law, any member of the General Assembly, or anyone having served in the preceding two years, cannot be elected as a public member.


                                      PUBLIC MEMBERS                                                       LEGISLATIVE MEMBERS

                                   Philip F. Laughridge, CPA                                                Honorable Garry R. Smith
                                              Chairman                                                        House Ways and Means Committee

                                            Jane P. Miller                                                             Honorable Gary E. Clary
                                           Vice Chairman                                                         House Judiciary Committee

                           Honorable John B. Dangler, JSC (ret)                             Honorable Hugh K. Leatherman, Sr.
                                                                                                                             Senate Finance Committee
                               Honorable Thomas F. Hartnett
                                                                                                                                 Honorable Wes Climer
                                   Charles L. A. Terreni, Esq.                                              Senate Judiciary Committee