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h Carolina law requires that every registered motor vehicle have liability insurance. In spite of this law, there
a any uninsured motorists. In 1997, we reported that estimates of the number of uninsured motor vehicles in Sout
Carolina ranged from 10% to 16%. As a result, motorists who purchase insurance are paying higher prices.

The following is a summary of our report on the status of South Carolina’s enforcement of compulsory insurance laws.
We focus on the efforts of the Department of Public Safety (DPS), which coordinates this function with local law
enforcement agencies. Our primary finding is that incomplete data on insurance customers have prevented efficient
enforcement of the law by state and local officials. DPS has been working on the development of a reliable insurance
customer database, however, its implementation date is not certain.

Revenues Not Retained by DPS I nsurance Companies Not Audited

Section 38-73-470 of the South Carolina Code of Laws Each year, DPS attempts to collect from insurance
required that uninsured motorist insurance taxes, paid by companies $1 in uninsured motorist taxes for each motor
insurance companies, be transferred to the department  vehicle insured. The department does not, however,

beginning in FY 95-96. After collecting these tax audit insurance companies to ensure that they pay the
revenues in FY 95-96 and FY 96-97, however, DPS amount required by state law. Without auditing, there is
deposited them in the state’s general fund. reduced incentive for insurance companies to pay the

full amount they owe.
We found no law indicating that funds were

appropriated to DPS to replace the diverted revenues. The Department of Insurance (DOI) also collects taxes
The amount collected but not retained by DPS during from insurance companies. These taxes are based on a
FY 95-96 and FY 96-97 was approximately $5.8 percentage of the premiums earned. DOl relies on its
million. own staff to conduct field audits of insurance companies

based in South Carolina and on other states to audit
companies based elsewhere. If the uninsured motorist
insurance tax were also based on a percentage of
premiums, DOI could efficiently collect and audit this
tax for DPS.

Incomplete data on insurance customers have
prevented efficient enforcement of the law by
state and local officials.

South Carolina Legislative Audit Council m 400 Gervais St. m Columbia, SC 29201 = (803)253-7612 m www.state.sc.us/sclac



| ncomplete Data

Section 56-10-240 requires insurance companies to
notify DPS of the insurance status of certain customers
only after their policies have been canceled. This
presents a problem, in that DPS does not know whether
the vehicles are uninsured or their owners have changed
insurance companies, sold the vehicles, moved out-of-
state, etc. As aresult, DPS attempts to verify coverage
through steps including contacting the motorists by mail,
calling insurance agents, and sending state troopers to
motorists’ homes.

Without a data system that includes all new policies,
renewals, and cancellations, DPS can neither accurately
nor efficiently support efforts to detect uninsured motor
vehicles. For example, during the application process
An improved data system could result in improved

F unding Priority

for a driver’s license or vehicle registration, the Division
of Motor Vehicles cannot verify the insurance
information given by motorists. In addition, during
traffic stops, law enforcement officers cannot verify the
information on insurance cards presented by motorists.

Florida, Louisiana, Utah, and Virginia are able to cross-
check the customer records of insurance companies with
state vehicle registrations to produce a listing of vehicles
not claimed by any insurance company. Before our
review, DPS started working to develop a similar

system. To achieve this goal, however, it will be
necessary to amend state law to require insurance
companies to send more complete information to the
department.

which were spent on salaries and benefits of

enforcement of compulsory insurance laws by DMV and
state and local law enforcement officers. In FY 97-98,
however, DPS spent almost 95% of uninsured motorist
insurance tax revenues on the highway patrol, most of

“administrative” officers. It is therefore not clear
whether DPS has identified the improvement and long-
term maintenance of its insurance verification data
system as a funding priority.

L icense Plates for Newly Acquired Vehicles

In North Carolina and Virginia, a vehicle generally may
not be operated on a public road without a state-issued
license plate. In both states, automobile dealers are
authorized to issue license plates. An individual who
purchases a vehicle from a private party must obtain his
plate from a state government office.

South Carolina law allows a newly acquired, insured
motor vehicle to be driven without a license plate for 45
days. This grace period makes it easieuftinsured
vehicles without license plates to avoid detection.

his document summarizes our full report, A Status Report on the Enforcement of
Compulsory Automobile Insurance Laws. Copies of the full report and all LAC audits are
available free of charge. If you have questions, contact George L. Schroeder, Director.
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