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Executive Summar y

State law requires that motor vehicles have liability insurance. In spite of
this requirement, there are many uninsured motor vehicles. We reported, in
1997, that estimates of the number of uninsured motor vehicles in South
Carolina ranged from 10% to 16%.

The State Reorganization Commission recommended, in June 1998, that the
Department of Public SafetpPs develop a data system in which insurance
companies would provide more complete information on their customers’
insurance coverage. In conducting our current review, we focused on the
detection of uninsured motor vehicles by the Department of Public Safety

(DP9.

Our primary finding is that incomplete data continue to prevent efficient
enforcement of the lawDPShas been working on the development of a
reliable insurance customer database, however, its implementation date is
not certain. This finding and others are summarized below.

Q State law required that uninsured motorist insurance taxes be transferred
to DPS for enforcing compulsory insurance laws, beginning¥rg5-96.
In FY 95-96 andrY 96-97, however, after collecting these revenDes
deposited them in the state’s general fund. The amount collected but not
retained by the department was approximately $5.8 million.

O DPsSdoes not audit insurance company payments of uninsured motorist
insurance taxes.

Q State law requires insurance companies to nd#ifg of the insurance
status of certain customewsly after their policies have been canceled.
This presents a problem, in tiz®Sdoes not have sufficient data to
know initially whether the vehicles are uninsured or their owners have
changed insurance companies, sold the vehicles, moved out-of-state, etc.
DPSofficials estimated that 86% of motorists reported to have canceled
their insurance, to whom the department sent insurance verification
forms inFY 96-97, had insurance coverage.

During the application process for a driver’s license or vehicle
registration, the Division of Motor Vehicles cannot verify information
given by motorists about their insurance coverage. In addition, during
traffic stops, state and local law enforcement officers cannot verify the
information on insurance cards presented by motorists.
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Executive Summary

Q InFY 97-98,DPSspent almost 95% of uninsured motorist insurance tax
revenues on the highway patrol, most of which were spent on salaries
and benefits of “administrative” officers. It is therefore not clear whether
DPShas identified the improvement and long-term maintenance of its
insurance verification data system as a funding priority.

Q South Carolina law allows a newly acquired, insured motor vehicle to be

driven without a license plate for 45 days. This grace period makes it
easier for uninsured vehicles without license plates to avoid detection.
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Chapter 1

Introduction

Audit Objectives

Scope and
Methodology

Members of the South Carolina General Assembly asked us to review the
administration of a state uninsured motorist insurance tax. They wanted to
know whether the South Carolina Department of Public Safetg) (has

been receiving the revenues from the tax, as required by 838-73-470 of the
South Carolina Code of Laws.

After a preliminary review, we determined that we would:

O Assess wheth@dPShas been receiving revenues from the uninsured
motorist insurance tax.

Q Summarize the current methods usedByto enforce compulsory
insurance laws.

Q Give a status report on the effortsmySto address shortcomings in its
enforcement of compulsory insurance laws.

O Research systems used in other states to enforce compulsory insurance
laws.

The period covered by our review was primarily July 1997 through June
1998. During the review, we:

O ExaminedDPSfinancial records and law enforcement statistics.
Q Examined relevant laws in South Carolina and other states.

Q Interviewed officials and obtained documents fildRE the South
Carolina Department of Insurandegdl), and other state governments.

QO Reviewed previous reports published by the Legislative Audit Council,
the South Carolina Reorganization Commission, zPd

To achieve some of our objectives, we relied on computer-generated data
maintained bypPS We have not tested these data to determine their
reliability. However, when these data are viewed in context with other
relevant data, we believe that the opinions, recommendations, and
conclusions in this report are valid.
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Chapter 1
Introduction

Background and
History

Role of the Department of
Public Safety

This audit was conducted in accordance with generally accepted government
auditing standards.

Section 56-10-10 of the South Carolina Code of Laws requires motorists to
purchase liability insurance before registering their vehicles. In spite of this
law, there are many uninsured motor vehicles. In 1997, we reported
estimates of the number of uninsured motor vehicles in South Carolina
ranging between 10% and 16%. Motorists without insurance cause those
with insurance to pay higher prices.

DPSis required by state law to use revenues from an uninsured motorist
insurance tax to enforce compulsory insurance laws. In a June 1998 report,
the State Reorganization Commission recommende®f&tievelop a data
system in which insurance companies would provide more complete
information on their customers’ insurance coverage. Below we summarize
the role ofDPSand the history of the uninsured motorist insurance tax.

As part of the restructuring of state government in 1993 and 1996, the
General Assembly created the Department of Public Safety and transferred
to it the Division of Motor VehiclesOMV) and the South Carolina Highway
Patrol.

The functions oDMV that were transferred @PSinclude:

* Issuing vehicle registration certificates, license plates, and driver’s
licenses.

¢ Maintaining statewide records on traffic law violations and accidents.

« Determining the insurance status of motorists who have canceled their
policies.

¢ Suspending registration certificates and license plates of vehicles
identified as uninsured.
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Chapter 1
Introduction

History of the Uninsured
Motorist Insurance Tax

The functions of the Highway Patrol that were transferréaP®include:
« Enforcing traffic laws.

« Obtaining proof of insurance from motorists involved in accidents or
stopped for traffic violations.

« Confiscating the registration certificates and license plates of vehicles
without insurance.

The uninsured motorist insurance tax was created by the General Assembly
in 1974 to provide funds to the State Highway Department for enforcing
compulsory insurance laws. Companies selling automobile insurance in
South Carolina are required by 838-73-470 to remit $1 of each yearly
premium for uninsured motorist insurancebes

Beginning inFY 97-98, the tax revenues were spenDBg Table 1.1

shows the uninsured motorist insurance tax revenues collected and spent by
DPSin FY 97-98. Almost 95% of the expenditures were for the highway
patrol. Most of the highway patrol expenditures were for the salaries and
benefits of “administrative” law enforcement officers, whose duties include
locating citizens who fail to surrender their driver’s licenses or license

plates.
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Chapter 1
Introduction

Table 1.1: FY 97-98 Revenues and
Expenditures From the

Uninsured Motorist Insurance

Tax!

Changes in the
Law Going Into
Effect in 1999

REVENUES
Taxes $2,807,559
Interest $52,393
TOTAL $2,859,952
EXPENDITURES

Highway Patrol

Salaries and Benefits $1,298,059
Equipment $486,911
Contractual Services $34,060
Total $1,819,029

Office of Financial Responsibility

Salaries and Benefits $101,930

Total $101,930
TOTAL $1,920,959
Year-End Balance $938,993

1 Totals are rounded to the nearest dollar.

In 1997, the General Assembly enacted changes in South Carolina’s
insurance laws, including the changes listed below, that will go into effect in
February 1999. We have summarized some of the changes below.

¢ Section 56-10-510 of the Code will exempt certain motorists from
having liability insurance, or the equivalent, if they pay an “uninsured
motorist fee” to the state of $550 per year. Most of this fee will be
transferred to insurance companies based on their respective market
shares.

The uninsured motorist fee is not a form of insurance. It is, rather, a
legal way for a motorist to get his vehicle registered and licensed

without having to prove he will be able to pay for any of the damages or
injuries he may cause in an accident. If a legally uninsured motorist
were to cause damages or injuries to another party, the victim would
have to file a claim under his own uninsured motorist coverage or

recover damages from the uninsured motorist if assets were available.
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Chapter 1
Introduction

The extent to which this option will be used is not clezals officials
report that 856-10-535 of the Code prevents them from offering the
option to motorists convicted of certain types and/or numbers of traffic
violations or if any household member has been licensed for less than
three years. In addition, the $550 fee, for many drivers, will be more
expensive than obtaining liability insurance.

¢ Section 56-10-551 of the Code will require insurance companies to
notify DPSof all cancellations of liability policies. This will be an
expansion of the current law, which requires insurance companies to
notify DPSof customers who cancel their policies within three months
and customers with bad driving records who cancel their policies.

¢ Section 56-10-553(C) of the Code will requidBSto:

. .. select a computerized random sample of five hundred of the
registered vehicles in the State [daily] and mail to each owner a
written request form to be completed by him and his insurance
company . . . to verify liability insurance coverage . . . Failure to
return the form verified in the proper manner is prima facie
evidence that the vehicle is uninsured. . .

e Section 56-10-553(B) of the Code will also requbfesto conduct “. . .
random sampling of licensed drivers with moving violations requesting
proof of insurance.”

¢ Section 56-10-520 of the Code will requibeSto suspend a vehicle
owner’s driver’s license and all of his license plates and registration
certificates if he is convicted of driving an uninsured vehicle not
registered as uninsure®PSmay not reissue these items until the owner
pays a $550 fee and furnishes proof of insurance.

Page 5 LAC/98-5 Compulsory Automobile Insurance Laws



Chapter 1
Introduction

Page 6 LAC/98-5 Compulsory Automobile Insurance Laws



Chapter 2

Collection of the Uninsured Motorist Insurance
Tax

During a two-year period, tax revenues required by state law to be
transferred t@PS for enforcement of compulsory insurance laws, were
deposited in the state’s general fund. In addition, the payments by insurance
companies are not audited to ensure compliance with state law.

WhenDPSwas created in 1993, §38-73-470 of the South Carolina Code of
Reve_nues Not Laws was amended to require that uninsured motorist insurance taxes be
Retained by DPS transferred t®PS beginning irFY 95-96. It stated:

One dollar of the yearly premium for uninsured motorist coverage must be
transferred to the South Carolina Department of Public Safety . . . to provide
funds for the costs of enforcing and administering the [state’s compulsory
insurance laws].

In FY 95-96 and~Y 96-97, however, after collecting these tax revenDes,
deposited them in the state’s general fund. The amount collected but not
retained byDPSduringFY 95-96 andrY 96-97 was approximately $5.8
million. We were unable to determine wh®Sdid not retain these
revenues.

In 1997, §38-73-470 of the Code was amended. It now states:

One dollar of the yearly premium for uninsured motorist coverage is
directed to be paid to the South Carolina Department of Public Safety . . . to
provide for the costs of enforcing and administering the [state’s compulsory
insurance laws] . . ..

After the above amendment was enacii retained and spent revenues
from the uninsured motorist insurance tax for the first tinfeyi®7-98.
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Chapter 2
Collection of the Uninsured Motorist Insurance Tax

Insurance
Companies Not
Audited

Recommendations

DPSdoes not have an adequate system for determining whether insurance
companies are paying the amount of uninsured motorist insurance taxes
required by law.

In FYy 97-98, for examplepPScollected approximately $2.8 million in
uninsured motorist insurance taxes from over 140 insurance companies. The
department attempted to collect $1 per vehicle insured, but it did not audit
the data submitted to it by the insurance companies. During the fiscal year,
more than 2.9 million motor vehicles were registered in South Carolina.
Without auditing, there is reduced incentive for insurance companies to pay
the full amount they owe.

The South Carolina Department of Insurar@elj collects other insurance
taxes based on a percentage of the premiums collected by insurance
companies.DOI conducts audits of insurance companies based in South
Carolina and relies on other states to audit companies based elsewhere. If
the uninsured motorist insurance tax were based on a percentage of
premiums collected by insurance companiesl, could efficiently collect

and audit this tax fobPS

1. The General Assembly should consider amending 838-73-470 of the
South Carolina Code of Laws to base the uninsured motorist insurance
tax on a percentage of premiums collected.

2. If the General Assembly amends 8§38-73-470 of the Code so that the
uninsured motorist insurance tax is based on a percentage of premiums
collected, it should consider directing the Department of Insurance to
collect and audit the tax for the Department of Public Safety in exchange
for an administrative fee.
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Chapter 3

Incomplete Data Used to Detect Uninsured
Motor Vehicles

In this chapter, we summarize the methods usdoA8and local law
enforcement agencies to detect uninsured motor vehicles. In addition, we
describe how incomplete data have negatively affected efforts to detect
uninsured motor vehicles.

This need for more complete data was recognizedRgand the State
Reorganization Commission prior to our revieBPSalso noted that it
needed to automate its data collection process.

Investigation of Canceled Insurance Policies

Insurance companies are required by 856-10-240 of the South Carolina
Code of Laws to notiffpPSof customers who cancel their policies within
three months of purchase and customers with bad driving records who
cancel their policies. This presents a problem, inD&does not know
whether a vehicle is uninsured or the owner has changed insurance

During traffic stops, law companies, sold the vehicle, moved out-of-state, etc. As a 1@Bglt,
enforcement officers cannot attempts to verify coverage through steps including contacting the motorists
verify the information on by mail, calling insurance agents, and sending state troopers to motorists’
insurance cards presented by homes.

motorists.

In FY 97-98, the department mailed 99,223 insurance verification forms to
motorists reported to have canceled their policizBS officials estimated

that 86% of the motorists to whabPSsent insurance verification forms in
FY 96-97 had insurance coverage. Conservatively estimated,9@-98
approximately 80,000 of these insurance verification forms were sent to
motorists who had insurance.

Without a data system that includes all new policies, renewals, and
cancellationspPScan neither accurately nor efficiently support efforts to
detect uninsured motor vehicles. As described below, during the
application process for a driver’s license or vehicle registration, the
Division of Motor VehiclesPMV) cannot verify the insurance information
given by motorists. During traffic stops, law enforcement officers cannot
verify the information on insurance cards presented by motorists. Finally,
state troopers have been getting unreliable information on suspended
registrations and license plates.
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Chapter 3
Incomplete Data Used to Detect Uninsured Motor Vehicles

Insurance Verification When Applying for Vehicle Registrations
and Driver’s Licenses

Sections 56-10-10 and 56-10-220 of the Code require that motorists
applying to register their vehicles provide signed statements that their
vehicles have liability insurance. Section 56-1-80 of the Code requires that
motorists applying for driver’s licenses submit forms for “verification of
liability insurance coverage.” However, becabD&sSdoes not have a

reliable insurance customer database, it is not able to verify insurance
information presented by motorists at the time of application.

Section 56-10-10 states that a motorist who lies about insurance coverage to
obtain vehicle registration is subject to perjury statutes. Section 56-10-260
states that anyone convicted of presenting false evidence about insurance
coverage can be fined up to $200 for a first offense and shall have his
driver’s license and vehicle registration suspendedrfsy The department
reported that, ifFY 97-98, it issued four suspensions for providing false
insurance information.

Traffic Stops and Accident Investigations

Section 56-10-225 of the Code states that a motorist who fails to maintain
proof of insurance in his vehicle can be fined up to $IM@Sreports that,

from January 1, 1998, through August 21, 1998, state and local law
enforcement officers issued 7,374 tickets to motorists for not having an
insurance card. However, becal$s does not have a reliable database

for verifying insurance card information, uninsured motorists can avoid
detection. For example, an insurance card can be counterfeited. In
addition, 60 days after purchasing insurance and receiving a legitimate card,
a motorist may cancel his policy and retain the card.

Section 56-10-270 of the Code states that anyone convicted of knowingly
operating an uninsured motor vehicle, subject to registration, can be fined
up to $200 for a first offense and shall have his driver’s license and vehicle
registration suspended DPS Section 56-10-245 of the Code allobRS

to assess a fine of $5 a day, up to $200, for each day a motor vehicle is
uninsuredDPSreported that, iFY 97-98, it issued 10,593 suspensions to
motorists for operating an uninsured vehicle.
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Chapter 3
Incomplete Data Used to Detect Uninsured Motor Vehicles

Recommendation

Section 56-9-350 of the Code requires that the owner or operator of a
vehicle involved in a traffic accident causing bodily injury or $400 or more
in property damage submit an insurance verification foroP® This

section states that failure to submit insurance verification is “prima facie
evidence that the vehicle was uninsured.” Inconsistently, however,
856-5-1270 sets the property damage threshold for submitting insurance
verification at $1,000DPSreported that, ifFY 97-98, a total of 278,033
motorists were required to complete insurance verification forms as the
result of traffic accidents; 234,542 were returned with verification of
insurance.

Confiscation of Registration Certificates and License Plates

Section 56-10-240 of the Code requibgssto suspend and confiscate the
license plate and registration certificate of any uninsured motor vehicle.
DPSattempts to confiscate suspended registration certificates and license
plates, with the assistance of law enforcement officers when necessary. In
FY 97-98, a total of 11,167 license plates and registration certificates were
confiscated.

However,DPSofficials stated that the information they convey to the
troopers to confiscate license plates is unreliable. The department reports
that, in 57% of attempted confiscations in July 1997, motorists were able to
prove to troopers that there had been no lapse in coverage.

Conclusion
Incomplete data have been a significant problebP&t As a result, the

department is planning data system improvements, which we describe in
Chapter 4.

3. The General Assembly should consider amending state law to clarify the
property damage threshold at which the owner or operator of a vehicle
involved in a traffic accident is required to submit verification of
liability insurance coverage to the Department of Public Safety.
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Chapter 4

Makin g It Easier to Detect Uninsured Motor

Vehicles

Data
Improvements
Planned by DPS
and the Expected
Benefits

State law does not currently
require insurance companies
to report to DPS new
automobile insurance
customers or renewals.

In this chapter we summarize the data improvements planned$gnd the
expected benefits. We note, however, that most of the department’s
expenditures from uninsured motorist insurance taxes have been on the
highway patrol. In addition, we cite the need for a law that mandates full-time
use of license plates.

Since January 1998pPShas been working toward implementing a new
automated data system for insurance verification. With this sybtem,

would be able to maintain a database of information on all new automobile
insurance customers, all renewals, and all cancellations reported by the
insurance companie®MV could then match the insurance records with its
own database of vehicle registrations, producing a list of registered vehicles
not claimed by any insurance company that does business in South Carolina.

If implemented as planned DPS the new data system would help improve
efficiency in identifying uninsured motorists and would eliminate the need

for daily sampling of vehicle registrations, as required by state law effective
1999 (see p. 5)DMV branch offices and law enforcement officers would

have access to the department’s database of insured vehicles. This access
would allowDMV staff to confirm that an applicant for a driver’s license or
vehicle registration is actually insured instead of depending on the
applicant’s signed statement. State and local law enforcement officers would
be able to check the insurance database to verify updated information before
confiscating license plates or issuing tickets to motorists for being uninsured.

In a June 1998 report, the State Reorganization Commission recommended
thatDPSdevelop an electronic data transfer system as soon as possible. To
ensure that insurance companies provide the necessary information on a
consistent basis, however, the law will need to be changed. State law does
not currently require insurance companies to repdP®new automobile
insurance customers or renewals.

DPSofficials stated that they are negotiating with representatives of several
insurance companies concerning the additional information needed to
facilitate the operation of the new systeDPSexpects the system to be in
place by the end of 1999; however, achieving this goal will depend on a
change in state law.
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Chapter 4
Making It Easier to Detect Uninsured Motor Vehicles

Systems in Other States

Recommendations

Funding Priority

Recommendation

Other states are already cross-checking insurance company customer
databases with government vehicle registration records. According to the
American Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators, as of November
1997, eight states, including Florida, Louisiana, and Virginia, require
insurance companies to report all new policies as well as cancellations.

Utah pays $1 million per year to an outside contractor to administer its
verification program, which, according to a 1997 state audit, achieved a 96%
level of accuracy in identifying uninsured motorists. An official with the
Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles reported that paperwork and staffing
levels have both been reduced since its new verification program went into
effect.

4. The General Assembly should consider amending state law to require
that companies selling insurance in South Carolina report, in a timely
manner, information on all new automobile insurance customers, all
renewals, and all cancellations to the Department of Public Safety.

5. DPSshould review and consider ideas from other states during the
development of its automated data system for insurance verification.

As described above, an improved data system could result in improved
enforcement of compulsory insurance lawDiWy and state and local law
enforcement officers. IRY 97-98, howevemPSspent almost 95% of
uninsured motorist insurance tax revenues on the highway patrol, most of
which were spent on salaries and benefits of “administrative” officers (see p.
4). It is therefore not clear whethePShas identified the improvement and
long-term maintenance of its insurance verification data system as a funding
priority.

6. When allocating revenues from the uninsured motorist insurance tax,
DPSshould give priority to the improvement and long-term maintenance
of its insurance verification data system.
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Chapter 4
Making It Easier to Detect Uninsured Motor Vehicles

License Plates for
Newly Acquired
Vehicles

South Carolina law allows a newly acquired, insured motor vehicle to be
driven without a license plate for 45 days. This grace period makes it easier
for uninsuredvehicles without license plates to avoid detection.

Sections 56-3-110 and 56-3-1240 of the South Carolina Code of Laws state
that a vehicle cannot be operated on a public road unless it is registered and
has a license plate. Section 56-10-10 of the Code makes having liability
insurance a prerequisite to obtaining registration. If there were no exception
to these laws, a motor vehicle without a license plate, because of lack of
insurance or any other reason, would be in violation of state law. Such a
motor vehicle would attract the attention of law enforcement officers.

There is an exception, however. Section 56-3-210 of the Code gives the
owner of a newly acquired vehicle, or the owner of a vehicle moved here
from another state, 45 days to obtain a registration certificate and license
plate.

In North Carolina and Virginia, a vehicle generally may not be operated on a
public road without a state-issued license plate. In both states, automobile
dealers are authorized to issue license plates. An individual who purchases &
vehicle from a private party must obtain his plate from a state government
office.

If all South Carolina vehicles were required to display state-issued license
plates at all times, some logistical changes might be necessary to make the
registration and licensure of newly acquired vehicles efficient for motorists.
For example:

* DPSmight find it necessary to authorize the issuance of license plates by
automobile dealers. This is already permitted by 856-3-2340 of the
Code.

¢ The General Assembly might find it necessary to authorize the issuance

of a temporary license plate, BySand by automobile dealers, if it is
not feasible to issue a metal plate.
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Recommendation

The General Assembly might find it necessary to amend state law so that
any owner of a newly acquired vehicle can obtain a registration
certificate and a license plate without first paying the local government
property tax. Currently, when a person buys a vehicle from a private
party and does not have a license plate to transfer from another vehicle,
he is required by §12-37-2610 of the Code to pay the property tax before
obtaining a registration certificate and a license plate. When a person
buys a vehicle from a licensed motor vehicle dealer, however, he is not
required to pay the property tax before obtaining a registration certificate
and license plate.

The General Assembly should consider amending state law so that all
motor vehicles owned by persons residing in South Carolina are required
to display South Carolina license plates at all times. If the General
Assembly decides to enact this amendment, it should consider enacting
additional amendments to make the registration and licensure of newly
acquired vehicles efficient for motorists.

At the same timehPSshould ensure that it implements these changes so
that its processes are efficient for motorists.
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Appendix
Agency Comments

South Carolina Department of Public Safety

December 17, 1998

Mr. George Schroeder, Director
400 Gervais Street
Columbia, S. C. 29201

Dear Mr. Schroeder:

The Department of Public Safety has reviewed the final report by the Legislative Audit CouAcBtatus Report on
Compulsory Automobile Insurance in South Caralivdle feel that the report recommendations are sound and , if
implemented, will greatly assist in more effective enforcement of uninsured motorist laws.

As noted in the report, the Department has already initiated some changes that are necessary to improve the reliability
amount of data necessary to monitor and verify insurance coverages. This process is ongoing. Additionally, we are
currently working with the insurance and automobile industry to partner and collaborate on other initiatives that will als
assist in these efforts.

The report correctly points out that the Department of Public Safety did not retain and expend uninsured motorists
insurance revenues prior to July 1, 1997. The report, however, failed to point out that these revenues had been depo
to the General Fund of the State prior to fiscal year 1996-97 and prior to state government restructuring. This changec
with the amendment to 838-73-470 in 1997 which established the “Uninsured Enforcement Fund” and directed that
uninsured premiums, along with accrued interest, be paid to the Department of Public Safety.

The Department sincerely appreciates the professionalism and cooperation exhibited by your staff during the conduct
this audit.

Sincerely,

Don Addy
Chief of Staff

DPA/ibm
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South Carolina Department of Insurance

October 22, 1998

Hand-Delivered

The Honorable George L. Schroeder
Director

State of South Carolina

General Assembly

Legislative Audit Council

400 Gervais Street

Columbia, South Carolina 29201

Dear George:

The State of South Carolina Department of Insurance has received the South Carolina Legislative Audit Council’s
October 8, 1998 Draft Report to the General Assembly en#itiSthtus Report on Compulsory Automobile Insurance in
South CarolinaThis Department commends the staff of the Legislative Audit Council for its continuing efforts towards
translating many complex and currently controversial public safety enforcement issues into an underStatdsible
Reportwith clear recommendations. The Department of Insurance continues to believe that any such well-intentioned
findings and recommendations ultimately can only benefit the public of this State.

The initial South Carolina Legislative Audit Council’'s February 4, 1R8port to the General Assembly (on) Auto
Insurance in South Carolinand the subsequeRinal Report,issued on June 19, 1998, by The Compliance Review
Committee for Auto Insurance in South Carolina, through the State of South Carolina State Reorganization Commissic
generally and specifically commended the Department of Insurance for its recent pro-active, aggressive positions
enforcing this State’s automobile insurance laws. This Department appreciates that recognition and, in order to comply
with the spirit of theStatus Reporand the initial audit, has carefully reviewed the Dg&iitus Reporto determine
applicable recommendations and develop Department of Insurance objectives.

The DraftStatus Reporton Page Number 8, recommends that the S. C. Code Ann. Section 38-73-470 (Supp. 1997)
should be amended to require that the Department of Insurance, rather than the State of South Carolina Department c
Public Safety, collect and audit insurer payments into the Department of Public Safety’s Uninsured Enforcement Fund
That DraftStatus Reporgoes on to recommend that insurer payments be based upon a percentage of collected premiul
and that the Department of Insurance should receive an “administrative fee” in exchange for its collection and audit
services. That recommendation is based upon the Legislative Audit Council’s findings that, because of the current
statutory insurance premium tax collection system, the Department of Insurance could accomplish these tasks more
efficiently than they are currently being accomplished. The Department of Insurance agrees that, with proper staffing a
necessary related funding, it could — and it will — accomplish any task delegated to it by the State of South Carolina
General Assembly efficiently, timely, and professionally.
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Appendix
Agency Comments

Once again, on behalf of this Department, thank you for the professionalism, courtesy, and efforts of the staff of the
Legislative Audit Council. Naturally, if you have any further questions or comments in this matter or if | can ever help
you in any way, then let me know. My office telephone number is (803) 737-6212. My office telecopier facsimile

transmission number is (803) 737-6229.

Sincerely yours,

Lee P. Jedziniak

LPJ:pe
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