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Executive Summary

Why South Carolina’s
Reinsurance Facility is
Large and Why It Loses
Money

Members of the General Assembly, who were concerned about rising
insurance recoupment fees paid by South Carolina motorists, asked us to
conduct an audit of the South Carolina Reinsurance Facility. This audit
addresses laws, policies, and practices in place since the facility’s creation in
1974.

The reinsurance facility provides insurance for drivers in the residual market.
Across the United States, the residual market generally consists of drivers
who would have difficulty getting an insurance company to sell them a policy
voluntarily, such as inexperienced drivers and those with bad driving records.
However, through excessive regulation, South Carolina has greatly expanded
the number of drivers in its residual market and has reduced competition
among insurance companies.

We found that South Carohina has a farge number of policies in its
reinsurance facility. Payments for the accidents and injuries caused by drivers
in the reinsurance facility are subsidized by drivers who are not in the
facility. In addition, management practices of the facility have contributed to
its high losses and high recoupment fees. We also found that the highway
patrol and local law enforcement agencies have not enforced some state laws
intended to deter uninsured drivers.

All of our recommendations are found in Chapter 5. The audit’s objectives,
scope and methodology are found in Appendix A. Our report is summarized
as follows.

In 1993, more than 42% (925,380) of South Carolina’s policies were in the
residual market. Georgia had less than 1% of its policies in the residual
market while the national average was about 4%. South Carolina had more
policies in its residual market than the cumulative total of California, Florida,
Maryland, Ohio, and 39 other states (see p. 7).

The reinsurance facility is large mainly because state law, regulation, and
policy have prevented insurance companies from charging premiums that are
sufficient to pay the losses and expenses projected from many drivers. In
addition, some agents, as authorized by state law, have been designated to
cede (transfer) all of their policies to the facility. The General Assembly and
the department of insurance have begun to institute reforms that will reduce
the size of the facility but more could be done (see p. 9).
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Executive Summary

How Management of the
Reinsurance Facility Has
Contributed to its High
Losses '

The reinsurance facility loses money each year because premiums on policies
ceded are inadequate to pay for losses-and expenses. To cover these
shortfalls, South Carolina motorists paid the facility approximately
$1.25 billion in recoupment fees from 1988 to 1996 (see p. 16).

The amount of recoupment collected has not been sufficient to pay for losses
of the reinsurance facility. For example, in FY 93-94, the facility needed
$233 million to pay for all losses and expenses, but had collected only
$195 million as of June 1996 (see p. 17).

There are other laws and practices that contribute to high recoupment fees.
For example, insurance agents are paid a 10% to 12% commission on the
recoupment fees that they collect. Prohibiting agents from earning
commissions on recoupment would reduce recoupment fees by more than
$14 million annually (see p. 14). In addition, some motorists use illegal
procedures to reduce their premium and recoupment fees (see p. 18).

The reinsurance facility has contracts with three insurance companies to
investigate and pay the claims of policies sold by agents designated to sell
insurance exclusively for the reinsurance facility. The contracts, however,
reward the companies for maximizing the dollar amount of the claims they

pay (see p. 21).

The reinsurance facility authorized payment of $1 million on an ineligible
claim. The facility paid the claim so that the company would not incur a
“substantial hardship” (see p. 24).

The reinsurance facility has not penalized insurance companies or required
them to reimburse the facility for undercharging drivers ceded (transferred)
to the facility (see p. 25).

Since 1974, 170 insurance agents have been designated to sell insurance
policies exclusively for the reinsurance facility. The policies sold by these
agents have contributed substantially to the facility’s losses. Designated agents
were originally intended to have temporary, one-year appointments
(see p. 26).
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Executive Summary

Ways to Improve
Enforcement of Insurance
Laws and Improve Traffic
Safety

South Carolina has one of the highest highway death rates in the nation.
Chapter 4 describes legislative changes which could improve traffic safety
and lead to lower insurance premiums.

At least 10% (285,000) of South Carolina’s motorists drive without liability
insurance. Each year these drivers illegally avoid paying at least $10.9 million
in recoupment fees. As a result higher premiums and recoupment fees must
be charged to motorists who comply with insurance laws (see p. 35).

The highway patrol and local law enforcement agencies have not enforced
some laws that require motorists to prove they have liability insurance. In
addition, law enforcement agencies have not always confiscated the
automobiles of drivers found either driving under the influence or driving
under suspension for the fourth time (see p. 36).

The state’s program for seizing the license plates of uninsured automobiles
could be improved (see p. 39).

‘More severe penalties for drivers who repeatedly drive uninsured or drive

under the influence could improve traffic safety (see p. 40).
A “graduated” licensing system, which would require young drivers to
demonstrate adequate driving skills before obtaining a driver’s license, could

improve traffic safety (see p. 43).

Additional methods to reduce the number of motorists who drive while
intoxicated could improve highway safety (see p. 45).

Our recommendations to improve South Carolina’s automobile insurance
system begin on page 51.
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Chapter 1

How Drivers in the Residual Market Buy
Insurance in South Carolina and Other States

What Is the
Residual Market?

Three Types of
Residual Market
Systems

Driving in South Carolina is a privilege reserved for motorists who
demonstrate competency in operating a motor vehicle and who comply with
state insurance and safety laws. Any South Carolina vehicle operated on a
public road must be covered by minimum liability insurance to compensate
other persons for damages in the event of an accident. Motorists are not
required to purchase physical damage insurance, which covers the
policyholder’s motor vehicle in case of accident or theft. In 1994, South
Carolinians spent over $1.4 billion to insure private passenger and
commercial motor vehicles. .

In this chapter, we discuss the systems used by states to help high-risk drivers
obtain insurance. We also discuss the history of South Carolina’s reinsurance
facility and two types of insurance agents and companies.

The reinsurance facility provides insurance for drivers in the residual market.
Across the United States, the “residual market” generally consists of drivers
who would have difficulty getting an insurance company to sell them a policy
voluntarily, such as inexperienced drivers and those with bad driving records.
When given the option, the insurance companies do not usually sell policies
to drivers when expected losses and expenses exceed premiums. Through
excessive regulation, South Carolina has greatly expanded the number of
drivers in its residual market and has reduced competition among insurance
companies.

Below we describe three systems used by states to provide access to insurance
for drivers in the residual market. It is important to note that there is
variation among States using similarly named systems. We have not
summarized the systems used by Maryland and Massachusetts because they
have systems that are used only in their respective states.

Reinsurance Facility

Under a reinsurance facility system, each insurance company is required to
sell insurance to any willing customer. If the insurance company determines
that the driver is not a good risk, after selling the policy the company may
cede the policy to a reinsurance facility, which is a joint risk pool of all
insurance companies. Facility policies are serviced by the companies to whom
the drivers originally applied. The losses and profits on facility business are
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Chapter 1
How Drivers in the Residuatl Market Buy Insurance in South Carolina and Other States

shared among all insurance companies. In South Carolina, the companies
recover their losses on private passenger liability policies through a
“recoupment” fee charged to each driver. New Hampshire, North Carolina,
and South Carolina have reinsurance facilities.

Joint Underwriting Association

A joint underwriting association (JUA) is similar to a reinsurance facility.
Both are joint risk pools of all insurance companies. Under a JUA system,
however, each insurance company is allowed to refuse to sell insurance to any
driver, except for reasons prohibited by antidiscrimination laws. Drivers who
are initially unable to obtain insurance are referred to one of a number of
“servicing carriers” that sell and service policies for the JUA. The losses and
profits on JUA business are shared among all automobile insurance
companies. Florida, Hawaii, Michigan, and Missouri have JUAs,

Assigned Risk Plan

Under an assigned risk plan, each insurance company initially is allowed to
refuse to sell insurance to any driver, except for reasons prohibited by
antidiscrimination laws. Drivers who are initially unable to buy insurance may
appeal to an organization that assigns such drivers to insurance companies in
proportion to company market share. Each company is required to seil
insurance to its assigned drivers, for which the company receives premiums,
pays claims, and provides service.

The losses and profits incurred by an insurance company from assigned
drivers are not shared with other companies. As a result, the assigned risk
system may give companies greater incentive to minimize costs and claims
paid than other residual market systems.

The following 41 states have assigned risk plans:

Alabama Delaware Kentucky Nevada Qregon Vermont
Alaska Georgia Louisiana New Jersey Pennsylvania | Virginia
Arizona Idaho Maine New Mexico Rhode Island | Washington
Arkansas llinois Minnesota New York South Dakota | West Virginia
California Indiana Mississippi | North Dakota | Tennessee Wiscaonsin.
Colorade lowa Montana Chio Texas Wyoming
Connecticut Kansas Nebraska Oklahoma Utah

Page 2
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Chapter 1
How Drivers in the Residual Market Buy Insurance in South Carolina and Other States

The History of
South Carolina’s
Reinsurance
Facility

From 1947 to 1974, South Carolina operated an “assigned risk” plan.
However, in the early 1970°s there were concerns about South Carolina’s
assigned risk plan. Critics of the plan believed that some drivers who were
good risks (drivers who were unlikely to incur excessive losses) could only
obtain insurance in the residual market and were required to pay excessive
rates,

In 1972, the General Assembly created a committee to study the automobile
insurance system.in South Carolina. This committee issued reports in 1973
and 1974, finding that:

[ Approximately 17% (200,000) of South Carolina’s motorists purchased
insurance through the assigned risk plan. This was the largest population
of drivers in the residual market in the country.

1 Approximately 150,000 uninsured motorists were driving on the state’s
highways. The rates of accidents and deaths on the state’s highways were
among the highest in the nation.

[ Insurance premiums were high and often set arbitrarily.

As a result of its findings, the special committee recommended reforms of the
insurance system. Recommendations included:

(1 Requiring every insurance company in South Carolina to sell automobile
insurance to any licensed driver who could pay the premium.

a Reqﬁiring drivers to purchase a minimum amount of liability insurance
to drive on South Carolina highways.

[ Eliminating uninsured drivers in part by imposing severe penalties upon
drivers convicted of driving without insurance and adding staff at the
highway department to confiscate the license tags of uninsured motorists.

1 Establishing within the South Carolina Department of Insurance a
division to create a classification plan for establishing rates.

(4 Eliminating the assigned risk plan and creating a “reinsurance facility.”

Through the reinsurance facility, insurance companies would collectively
insure the drivers they did not want to insure separately.
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Chapter 1
How Drivers in the Residual Market Buy Insurance in South Carolina and Other States

How Recoupment
Points Affect
Insurance Bills In
South Carolina

In 1974, the General Assembly enacted insurance reforms, including
elimination of the assigned risk plan and creation of the reinsurance facility.
In 1995, 92% of policies ceded to the reinsurance facility were for private
passenger vehicles while 8% were for small commercial vehicles.

Premiums paid by drivers ceded to the facility are not high enough to pay the
drivers’ claims and the expenses of the facility. Until 1987, insurance
companies would temporarily absorb losses of the facility and later pass the
losses on to policyholders through rate surcharges.

In 1987, the General Assembly authorized the addition of a recoupment fee
to each policyholder’s insurance bill to reimburse insurance companies for
paying the facility’s losses on private passenger vehicles. Recoupment fees
are collected by the insurance companies and are redistributed by the
reinsurance facility to each company based on its share of the facility’s losses.
The calculation of the recoupment fee is based on a formula in state law
(see p. 16).

The reinsurance facility is governed by a board made up of at least 19
members who are insurance company representatives, insurance agents,
consumer representatives, and other interest groups. The director of insurance
serves as chairman but has no vote except to break a tie. The facility had 14
staff positions in FY 96-97, and its anmual budget was approximately
$1.1 million. The facility contracts with AIPSO, a company from Rhode
Island, to provide rate making, audit, and data processing services. AIPSO is
a nonprofit service association of insurance companies which serves residual
markets in 49 states.

Annual recoupment fees are charged to each driver based on his driving
record for the past three years. For example, in FY 96-97 a driver with no
traffic tickets or accidents in the last three years would have zero recoupment
points and would pay a recoupment fee of $50.33 for a full-coverage policy.

A driver with a ticket for speeding 15 miles over the speed limit would have
one recoupment point, and would pay an annual recoupment fee of $391.86.
A dniver with additional traffic tickets would be assessed additional
recoupment points, depending on the violations. Table 1.1 outlines the
amount of recoupment charged for each recoupment point.
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Chapter 1
How Drivers in the Residual Market Buy Insurance in South Carolina and Other States

Table 1.1: Annuat Recoupment
Fee Charges by Recoupment
Points in FY 96-97

Two Types of
Insurance Agents
and Companies in
South Carolina

- Amount | Total

$33.94 $5.91 $10.48 $50.33

1 $229 52 $58.58 $103.76 |  $391.86
2 $459.04 $117.16 $207.52 | $783.72
3 $688.56 $175.74 $311.28 | $1,175.58
4 $918.08 $23432 $415.04 | $1567.44
5 $1.147.60 $292.90 $518.80 | $1,959.30
6 $1,377.12 $351.48 $622.56 | $2,351.16
7 $1,606.64 $410.06 $726.32 | $2.743.02
8 $1,836.16 $468.64 $830.08 | $3,134.88
) $2.065.68 $527 22 $933.84 | $3526.74
10 or more | $2,295.20 $585.80 | $1.037.60 | $3,918.60

As of September 1996, 170 insurance agents were designated to sell policies
exclusively for the facility. Policies sold through designated agents are
serviced by three designated companies under contract with the facility.
Section 38-77-590 of the South Carolina Code of Laws indicates that
designated companies and agents were created to provide drivers better access
to insurance and provide employment for agents who have lost their company
affiliation.

Insurance agents and companies that have not been designated to sell policies
exclusively for the reinsurance facility are sometimes called voluntary agents
and voluntary companies. They include well-known companies such as State
Farm, Alistate, and Nationwide.

Below are additional characteristics of these two segments of the market.

Designated Insurance Agents and Companies

[ -Approximately 18% of private passenger liability policies in South
Carolina are sold through designated agents and companies.

[ The reinsurance facility approves the number and location of designated
agents,
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Chapter 1
How Drivers in the Residual Market Buy Insurance in South Carolina and Other States

3

All policies sold by designated agents are ceded to the reinsurance
facility.

Designated companies initially pay all losses. They later recover the
losses on private passenger liability policies through recoupment fees

charged to South Carolina drivers.

Designated companies service the policies sold by designated agents.

Voluntary Insurance Agents and Companies

W

Approximately 82% of private passenger liability policies are sold
through voluntary agents and companies.

Each voluntary company determines the number and location of its
agents.

When a voluntary company sells a policy, it is required to declare, within
30 days, whether it will retain the policy or cede it to the reinsurance
facility.

If a voluntary company cedes more than 35% of premiums to the
reinsurance facility, the company is required to pay a penalty.

Voluntary companies pay all losses on the policies they retain.
Voluntary companies initially pay all losses on the policies ceded to the
facility. They later recover the losses on private passenger liability

policies through recoupment fees charged to South Carolina drivers.

Voluntary companies service the policies sold by their agents, including
policies retained and policies ceded to the reinsurance facility.
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Chapter 2

Why South Carolina’s Reinsurance Facility is
Large and Why it Loses Money

Largest Residual
Market in the
United States

South Carolina’s residual
market is larger than the
combined total of 43 other
states.

In this chapter, we note that South Carolina’s method of regulating premiums
has increased the number of motor vehicles insured through the reinsurance
facility. In addition, we describe the factors that have caused the facility to
lose money, one of which is inadequate premivms. And finally, we analyze
the recoupment fee and why it has produced insufficient revenue.

South Carolina has had a larger percentage of private passenger policies in
its residual market than any other state.

Liability Coverage

In 1993, about 42% of South Carolina’s private passenger liability policies
were in the residual market. This was the highest percentage in the United
States. The national average was about 4%.

South Carolina had 925,380 policies insured in its residual market, the third
largest number in the United States, exceeding 43 other states combined
(see Graph 2.1).

Physical Damage Coverage

In 1994, about 24% of South Carolina’s private passenger physical damage

premiums were in the residual market. This was also the highest percentage
in the United States. The national average was less than 2%.
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Chapter 2
Why South Carolina’s Reinsurance Facility is Large and Why it Loses Money

Graph 2.1: 1993 Comparison of
Private Passenger Policies in
South Carclina’s Residual Market
With Policies in 43 Other States

925,380

a Includes Florida, Delaware, Louisiana, New Hampshire, Kansas, Hawaii, Vermont, lllinois,
Georgia, Alaska, Maine, Kentucky, Mississippi, Washington, Minnesota, Tennessee,
Missouri, West Virginia, Oklahoma, New Mexico, Colorado, Indiana, Arkansas, Nevada,
Alabama, Wisconsin, Oregon, Montana, Arizona, ldaho, lowa, Nebraska, South Dakota,
Ohio, North Dakota, Wyoming, and Utah.
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Chapter 2
Why South Carolina’s Reinsurance Facility is Large and Why it Loses Money

Why the
Reinsurance
Facility is Large

What is An Insurance
Premium?

Rating Groups for Private
Passenger Premiums

Insurance premiums in South Carolina vary widely from company to
company. State law, regulation, and policy, however, control the manner by
which insurance companies establish premiums. In this section, we conclude
that the reinsurance facility is large mainly because insurance companies have
been prevented from charging premiums that are high enough to cover the
losses and expenses projected from many drivers. In addition, some insurance
agents have been designated to cede all of their policies to the facility.

A driver’s insurance payment in South Carolina can be separated into two
parts—a premium and a recoupment fce.

[ A premium is the amount charged by an insurance company for its -
policy. When a company declares that it will retain responsibility for a
policy’s losses, it is permitted to keep the entire premium. By contrast,
when a company cedes (transfers) responsibility for a policy’s losses to
the reinsurance facility, the company is required to cede the premium,
minus allowable expenses, to the facility.

O A recoupment fee is the portion of an insurance payment used to offset
losses from private passenger policies ceded to the reinsurance facility.
Recoupment fees for physical damage insurance are being phased out.

For private passenger insurance, South Carolina laws and regulations have
required that insurance companies act with near-uniformity when placing
drivers in specific rating groups. For example:

O Until 1996, regulation 69-13.4 required that each insurance company
divide drivers into 22 specific rating classifications, based on factors such
as their age, sex, marital status, driving distance to work, and whether
they were farmers. It also divided drivers into eight terrifories based on
their place of residence.

O Section 38-73-455 of the South Carolina Code of Laws and regulation
69-13.1 require specific surcharges and discounts based on the extent of
a policyholder’s accidents and moving violations during the prior 36
months.
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Chapter 2
Why South Carolina’s Reinsurance Facility is Large and Why it Loses Money

Insurance companies have
been required to charge the
same premiums to high- and
low-risk drivers. As a result,
insurance companies have
ceded many drivers to the
reinsurance facility.

(1 Regulation 69-13.2 requires specific credits and discounts for driver
training and ownership of more than one motor vehicle. It authorizes
unspecified credits and discounts for “good students,”. crashworthy
bumpers, and defensive driver training.

L Section 38-77-360 prohibits insurance companies from increasing
premiwms as a result of certain first offense driving violations, such as
“driving too fast for conditions™ and “careless or negligent driving.”

Laws and regulations like those cited above have not allowed insurance

companies to use enough rating groups to ensure that premiums are

consistently based on driver risk. For example:

1 Insurance companies have been required to place all persons 25 years old
and older, who drive 10 or more miles to work, in the same rating group.
However, the losses from the younger drivers in this group have been
higher than the losses from the older drivers. From 1992 through 1994,
bodily injury losses from persons 25 years old and older were equal to
72% of their premiums. Losses from 25- to 29-year-old, unmarried males
were equal to 101% of their premiums.

O Insurance companies have been required to place residents of York
County and Williamsburg County in the same territory. From 1992
through 1994, bodily injury losses from drivers in York County were
equal to 67% of their premiums. Bodily injury losses from drivers in
Williamsburg County were equal to 130% of their premiums.

(A Insurance companies have been required to charge the same rates to a
driver with a recent conviction for speeding not more than 10 mph over
the lunit, “dnving too fast for conditions,” or “careless driving” as to a
driver who has never had a conviction.

Because insurance companies have been required to charge the same
premiums to high- and low-risk drivers, premiums have not been high enough
to cover the losses and expenses projected from many drivers. As a result,
insurance companies have ceded many drivers to the reinsurance facility.
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Chapter 2
Why South Carolina’s Reinsurance Facility is Large and Why it Loses Money

Recent and Proposed
Changes In Private
Passenger Rating Groups

Negative Effects of
Government-Mandated,
Uniform Rating Groups

In 1996, the General Assembly and the department of insurance made
changes in the system for regulating private passenger automobile insurance
so that more drivers will pay premiums based on their expected losses and
expenses. These changes are expected to reduce the number of policies ceded
to the reinsurance facility.

The General Assembly repealed regulation 69-13.4 and gave the department
of insurance authority to establish rating territories by administrative order.
The department issued an order in November 1996 that revised the
mandatory, uniform territories for liability insurance and permitted companies
to establish their own territories for physical damage insurance. Beginning in
September 1998, companies will be permitted to establish their own territories
for liability insurance. This flexibility will allow companies with different
territorial claims experience to have different territories.

In repealing regulation 69-13.4, the General Assembly also gave the
department of insurance authority to establish uniform classifications by
administrative order. Department officials report that, in 1997, they plan to
issue an order with revised rating classifications.

For physical damage insurance only, the General Assembly amended state law
to allow insurance companies to charge multiple rates within each
government-mandated rating group, beginning in October 1996, based on the
relative risk of different drivers.

In addition, insurance department officials report that they plan to issue an
administrative order with revised driving record surcharges and discounts in
1997, if given authority to do so by the General Assembly.

Even when government-mandated, uniform rating groups are carefully
established, they can produce negative effects. Uniform rating groups will not
always match those that insurance companies would establish based on their
own actuarial experience and marketing objectives. As a result, the percentage
of policies ceded to the reinsurance facility may still be higher than it would
without government-mandated, uniform rating groups.
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Chapter 2
Why South Carolina’s Reinsurance Facility is Large and Why it Loses Money

Insurers May Not Refuse
to Sell Liability Insurance

Government-mandated, uniform rating groups can also cause insurance
companies to incur extra administrative costs. Companies are required to
modify the information systems they use in other states to conform to South
Carolina’s requirements.

It is important to note that government-mandated, uniform rating groups are
not necessary to prevent racial or other illegal discrimination. Discriminatory
rating groups could be deterred if state law required all insurance companies
to have their rating groups approved by the department of insurance. Laws
prohibiting discrimination would remain in effect. For example, §38-73-440
states, “In determining the premium rates to be charged on automobile
insurance, it is unlawful to consider race, religion, national origin, or
economic status.”

Section 38-77-110 states that automobile insurance companies may not refuse
to sell lability insurance to willing customers. This requirement is commonly
referred to as a “mandate to write.” In 1996, the General Assembly amended
§38-77-110 so that companies could legally refuse to setl physical damage
insurance to any driver, except for reasons prohibited by antidiscrimination
laws.

Because companies may not legally refuse to sell liability insurance, when the
expected losses from a policy are higher than the premium, the company has
incentive to cede the policy to the reinsurance facility. Net losses from the
facility are paid with recoupment fees charged to all South Carolina drivers.

In certain cases, companies may have incentive to avoid selling liability
insurance to high-risk drivers. Section 38-77-950 prohibits voluntary
companies from ceding more than 35% of premiums to the reinsurance
facility. The reinsurance facility imposes a penalty on companies that exceed
the limit. Some companies have terminated agents whose policies have
incurred excessive losses.
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Chapter 2
Why South Carolina’s Reinsurance Facility is Large and Why it Loses Money

Designated Insurance
Agents Cede 100% of
Premiums

Prior Approval of
Premium Levels

Effects of Premium
Regulation on Market
Concentration

Reduced Regulation
Would Create a Voluntary
Market for High-Risk
Drivers

Although §38-77-950 allows voluntary insurance companies to cede no more
than 35% of cedable premiums to the reinsurance facility, §38-77-590
requires designated agents to cede all cedable premiums to the reinsurance
facility.

Some of the policies currently sold by designated agents might not be ceded
in the absence of the designated agents. As a result, designated insurance
agents contribute to the high percentage of policies ceded to the reinsurance
facility. For a complete discussion of the system of designated insurance
agents and companies, see page 26. '

In addition to requiring uniform rating groups, state law, in §38-73-450,
requires that automobile insurance companies obtain prior approval of
premium levels from the department of insurance. We noted in our 1991
review of the department, however, that negative side effects can occur if
premiums are maintained below levels that would have been produced by
competition. The negative side effects include companies leaving the market
and a high percentage of policies ceded to the residual market.

From 1986 to 1995, the private passenger market share of the four largest
companies increased from 51% to 64%. During this period many smaller
companies stopped selling automobile insurance in South Carolina, including
Hartford, USF&G, and Prudential. Restrictive premium regulation may have
been a contributing factor to this exit from the market.

If insurance companies could refuse to sell any type of automobile policy on
a customer-by-customer basis, some companies would reject high-risk drivers.
At the same time, other companies, if allowed to charge adequate premiums,
would voluntarily serve most high-risk drivers.

Insurance companies in Georgia can refuse to sell insurance and can establish
their own rating structures after approval by the state. In Georgia, 99.8% of
policyholders were able to buy private passenger liability insurance in 1993
without entering the state’s assigned risk program for high-risk drivers.
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Why the
Reinsurance
Facility Loses
Money

The reinsurance facility loses money each vear because premiums are
exceeded by claims and expenses. One reason for these losses is that the
premiums legally authorized for policies ceded to the facility have not been
adequate. Listed below are additional factors that have either reduced
revenues or increased claims and expenses:

1 Technical Flaw In the Recoupment Formula

The recoupment formula, established bry §38-77-600, has a technical flaw
that produces revenue insufficient to cover the losses of the reinsurance
facility (see p. 17).

¥ Use of lllegal Strategies to Avoid High Premiums and Recoupment Fees

Some married couples with two cars lower their insurance bill by
maccurately claiming that the more expensive car is drven by the spouse
with fewer recoupment points. Another strategy is to falsely claim that a
motor vehicle is used in a business owned by the insured, thereby
qualifying for a commercial rate that does not include a recoupment fee
(see p. 18).

4 Inadequate Incentives to Minimize Claims

Claims filed by the customers of designated agents are serviced by
companics that are rewarded by the reinsurance facility for maximizing
the amount paid to accident victims. Claims filed by other customers are
serviced by voluntary insurance companies that are neither rewarded nor
penalized by the reinsurance facility for the amount paid to accident
victims (see p. 21).

1 Commissions Paid to Agents On Recoupment Fees

While recoupment was established to pay for losses incurred by the
reinsurance facility, insurance agents earn income from recoupment fees.
Thas 15 because state law allows insurance agents 1o receive commissions
on recoupment fees paid by motorists. In FY 93-94 and FY 94-95, agents
earned approximately $32 million in commissions on recoupment fees.
For FY 94-95, this amounted to approximately $6 for each insurance
policy.
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Investment Income From
Premiums

Section 38-77-620(1) of the South Carolina Code of Laws provides that
any recoupment charge paid by policyholders must be considered
premium for calculating premium taxes and commissions. The
reinsurance facility pays a designated agent 12% commission while
voluntary agents are paid an average commission of 10% (see p. 32).

 South Carolina motorists could save from $14 million to $18 million annually

if the General Assembly prohibited agents from earning commissions on
recoupment fees. Agents would still eamn commissions on premiums:

d Individuals Who Drive Without insurance
More than 285,000 South Carolimians may be driving without the liability
insurance required by state law. As a result, the reinsurance facility is

losing at least $10.9 million in recoupment fees (see p. 35).

If the above factors were addressed, net losses to the reinsurance facility
would be reduced.

We reviewed the facility’s potential for earning additional investment income
on premiums. Because the facility operates at a loss, we found no evidence
that it could earn investment income on premiums. Insurance companies use
their own funds to pay for the facility’s losses. At a later date, the companies
are reimbursed with recoupment fee revenues for losses on the facility’s
private passenger liability policies. Insurance company losses on the facility’s
commercial and private passenger physical damage policies can be recovered
through a premium authorized by the department of insurance.

To meet short-term obligations, the facility maintains cash and short-term
investments of approximately $3 million on which it earned $199,000 in
FY 94-95. This investment income slightly lowers the recoupment fees
collected from motorists. :
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The Recoupment
Fee Process

History of the
Recoupment Fee

Losses incurred by the reinsurance facility are paid initially by South Carolina
insurance companies. The purpose of the recoupment fee is to reimburse
insurance companies for the losses they have incurred on the facility’s private
passenger policies. For example, from October 1, 1994, to September 30,
1995, the reinsurance facility earned $490 million in premiums. Losses and
expenses for private passenger policies totaled $658 million, resulting in a net
loss to the facility of $168 million. The recoupment formula requires that the
companies be reimbursed for their losses, plus interest, for the delay in
reimbursement. Interest in this case totaled $27.6 million. In order to raise
revenue to pay for these prior losses, plus interest, an annual recoupment fee
is added to the insurance bills of all policyholders. '

State law does not allow insurance companies to charge recoupment fees on
commercial policies. Losses on commercial policies ceded to the reinsurance
facility are shared by all insurance companies.

As we will explain in this section, however, since FY 89-90, annual
recoupment fees have not produced sufficient revenues.

“As stated in Chapter 1, from 1974 to 1988, insurance companies were not

authorized to charge recoupment fees for the losses they incurred on the
facility’s private passenger policies. Insurance companies complained that
premiums adequate to cover their losses were not being authorized by the
department of insurance. Some insurance companies stopped selling
automobile insurance in South Carolina.

In 1987, the General Assembly enacted legislation which created the
recoupment fee process. Section 38-77-600 requires insurance companies to
charge each driver a recoupment fee, based on his driving record, to subsidize
the losses incurred by drivers whose policies are backed by the reinsurance
facility.

Recoupment fees in South Carolina were instituted on July 1, 1988, to pay
for losses of the facility from October 1, 1986, through September 30, 1987.
Each year, a recoupment fee is established based on the reinsurance facility’s
losses of the previous year. Page 5 shows the amount of recoupment charged
based on each recoupment point.
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Recoupment Revenues
Insufficient to Pay for
Facility Losses

Table 2.1: Recoupment Collected
for Policies Effective July 1,
1988--June 30, 1996

Effective October 1, 1996, physical damage policies ceded to the reinsurance
facility must pay self-sustaining rates. As a result, recoupment for physical
damage losses incurred after October 1, 1996, was eliminated. However,
because recoupment fees pay for losses incurred in previous years, physical
damage recoupment fees will continue to be charged until 1998.

For insurance policies effective from July 1, 1988, to July 1, 1996, private
passenger drivers paid approximately $1.25 billion in recoupment fees. This
amount, however, has not been enough to reimburse South Carolina insurance
companies for the losses they incurred (see Table 2.1).

July 1988—-June 1989 $126,268,714 $142,665,843 $16,397~,‘1 29

July 1989—-June 1990 $124,662,392 $114,292,934 ($10,369,458)
July 1990~June 1991 $169,564,367 $132,733,574 ($36,830,793)
July 1991-June 1992 $220,764,630 $182,407.918 ($38,356,712)
July 1992—June 1993 $218,007,257 $178,292,817 ($39,714,440)
July 19893—June 1894 $227,048,193 $169,435,611 (357,612,582}
July 1984—June 1995 $165,510,826 $132,299,312 ($33,211,514)
July 1995-June 1996 9 $233,332,300 $194,553,483 ($38,778,817)

1 Amount needed is based on previous year's loss of the facility and interest approved by the
facility’'s governing board on that amount.

2  Amount of recoupment shortfall or surplus is added to the amount needed in subsequent
years.

3 As of June 30, 1996. Final amount not yet available.

Each year’s shortfall has been carried forward and added to subsequent
recoupment charges paid by South Carolina’s motorists. The recoupment
formula established by §38-77-600 has a flaw which does not atlow all losses
to be recouped (see Appendix B). In addition, the formula does not include
a factor to adjust for high-risk drivers who stop driving or drive without
insurance. To correct these technical flaws, drivers without recoupment points
(they have no tickets or accidents) might be required to pay higher
recoupment fees.
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lilegal Actions Used to
Avoid Recoupment Fees

Some drivers may use illegal strategies to pay lower Insurance rates.
Moreover, some insurance agents, to attract more business, may be using
these strategies. Below we describe two strategies and investigations of their
use by the South Carolina Department of Insurance.

(1 Among some married couples with two cars, one spouse has more
recoupment points and drives the more expensive car. By illegally
claiming that the spouse with more points drives the less expensive car,
the couple can sometimes reduce their insurance bill significantly.
Assume that a couple wishes to purchase full coverage for the husband’s
1994 Chevrolet Cavalier and liability coverage only for the wife’s 1990
Cavalier. The husband has three points on his driving record, while the
wife has a clean record. If the husband falsely claims to be the customary
driver of the older Cavalier, the couple can save as much as $1,360 in
annual premiums and recoupment fees. Officials with the department of
insurance report that an investigation conducted in 1996 documented
cases where insurance agents offered to “switch” drivers illegally.

0 Premiums for commercial policies do not include additional recoupment
fees. Drivers may falsely claim to be using their cars in some way which
qualifies for the lower commercial rate. A driver with three recoupment
points, for example, can save over $2,600 in annual premiums and
recoupment fees by purchasing full coverage on a 1994 Cavalier with a
commercial policy. Furthermore, because of these potential savings,
msurance agents may have incentive to attract more customers by selling
commercial policies to noncommercial drivers. In 1995, the reinsurance
facility ruled that a business license is required for purchasing a
commercial policy. Officials with the department of insurance report that,
in cooperation with the department of revenue, they are investigating
whether drivers qualify for the commercial policy.

According to a spokesman for the department of insurance, it would be
impossible to give a dollar estimate of how much these strategies are costing
the reinsurance facility. However, when some drivers illegally avoid
recoupment fees, other drivers are required to pay higher recoupment fees.
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Conclusion

The reinsurance facility is large mainly because state law, regulation, and
policy have prevented insurance companies from charging premiums high
enough to cover the losses and expenses that are projected from many drivers.
In addition, some insurance agents have been designated to cede all of their
policies to the facility.

Reforms made by the General Assembly and the department of insurance in
1996 are expected to result in increased premiums paid by high-risk drivers
to insurance companies and fewer policies ceded to the reinsurance facility.
However, if state law allowed each insurance company to develop its own
rating groups, the percentage of policies insured through the residual market
could decrease further. In addition, company administrative costs could
decrease.

If in conjunction with increased rating flexibility, companies could legally
refuse to sell liability insurance, a private sector market would develop for
serving high-risk drivers.

The facility loses money each year for a number of reasons. A primary reason
is that the premiums legally authorized for policies ceded to the facility have
not been adequate. Other reasons include successful efforts to illegally avoid
high premiums and recoupment fees and inadequate incentives for insurance
companies to minimize claims.

Our recommendations to improve South Carolina’s automobile insurance
system begin on page 51.
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Chapter 3

How Management of the Reinsurance Facility
Has Contributed to its High Losses

Costs to Service
Facility Policies

Designated Companies
Rewarded for High
Losses

Table 3.1: SCRF Reimbursements
to Insurance Companies

The governing board of the reinsurance facility consists of representatives of
insurance companies, insurance agents, consumers, and other interest groups.
The reinsurance facility has 14 employees who are responsible for daily
operations.

In this chapter, we describe management practices and policies that have
contribuied to financial losses of the reinsurance facility.

The reinsurance facility pays insurance companies to service the policies that
they cede to the facility. We reviewed the manner in which these companies
are paid and found that additional measures could be implemented to lower
costs.

The facility contracts with three insurance companies known as designated
companies to service policies and to pay claims for all policies sold by
designated agents. These companies are paid administrative expenses based
on their contracted amount, ranging from 8% to 12% of the premiums
written. For expenses associated with investigating and adjusting claims, the
facility pays 9% to 11% of all claims paid. Therefore, the designated
companies have a financial incentive to increase accident claims. In contrast,
voluntary companies (such as State Farm and Allstate) are paid a percentage
of premiums to cover both administrative expenses and expenses associated
with adjusting claims. While there is less incentive for the voluntary
companies to inflate claims, the reinsurance facility has not implemented
incentives to lower costs for either voluntary or designated companies.

Designated Companies . .
| {Bofore 10104y

16% of Whritten

" Expense ..
Category ' " | (As of 10//94) "

Varies by Company,

0, Q,
8% to 12% of maximum of 23.4%

Administrative

Expenses Written Premiums Premiums of written premiums.

Payment of Claims o o o . Varies by Company,

and Adjustment 9% ‘to 11@ 15% O.f Paid maximum of 16.6%
of Paid Claims Claims . .

Expenses of written premiums.

On Qctober 1, 1994, a contracted rate was set for each of the three designated companies.
Rates of the voluntary companies are based on expense data submitted by the individual
carriers to AIPSO. The reimbursement rates for physical damage and liability insurance
differ.

N —
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The reinsurance facility has
not implemented a system to
reward companies for
controlling claims costs.

Bid Process implemented
in 1994,

-Claims paid by designated companies have been higher than claims paid on

policies ceded by voluntary companies. In FY 94-95, losses and expenses of
the designated companies totaled approximately $292 million ($279 million
for private passenger and $13 million for commercial vehicles). For this
period, the facility paid $1.61 in expenses and claims for every $l
policyholders paid in premiums. For policies ceded to the reinsurance facility
by voluntary companies, the facility paid only $1.22 for every $1 in
premiums earned. Losses and expenses for voluntary companies were
approximately $378 million ($340 million for private passenger and
$38 million for commercial vehicles).

Because designated agents and carriers are not financially accountable for the
amount of claims paid, they have little incentive to keep costs down. In 1991,
a subcommittee of the facility’s governing board reviewed the system of
compensating designated companies and concluded that compensation should
be based on written premiums. However, the subcommittee did not develop
a method to compensate these companies.

A 1994 report to the Senate Banking and Insurance Committee addressed the
need for incentive systems to compensate designated companies. The report
noted that “the more claims that are paid” by the designated company, the
more the company earned.

The plan administrator for South Carolina’s assigned risk plan for workers’
compensation contracts with servicing companies. Servicing companies are
rewarded for maintaining losses below a minimum amount. A disincentive
applies when the carrier exceeds a certain amount. The incentive program is
based on a statewide average loss ratio. The workers” compensation system
in North Carolina uses a similar incentive plan.

In 1993, for the first time, the facility requested bids from insurance
companies to service facility policies. The bidding had some positive financial
effects. Reimbursements from the facility to the carriers for administrative
expenses were reduced from 16% of the premiums to a range of 8% to 12%
depending on the individual company. In addition, expenses for investigating
claims were reduced from 15% of the losses paid to a range of 9% to 11%
of the losses (see Table 3.1). According to facility records, payments to the
designated companies were approximately $22 million lower from
October 1994 to December 1995 than the previous year as a result of
contracts.
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Size of Claims Staff

In addition, in many cases the facility pays the expenses of voluntary
companies at a higher rate than it pays designated companies. The facility has
not analyzed amounts paid for expenses to voluntary carriers to determine if
expenses should be reduced.

In 1994, the Senate Banking and Insurance Committee report cited the
importance of the reinsurance facility’s audit staff in monitoring the adequacy
of resources devoted to the settling of claims by designated companies. The
committee also recognized the importance of staff for large voluntary
companies, recognizing that there is a direct correlation between the size and
experience of claims staff and proper claims handling. In addition, the report
recommended that the facility’s audit staff review the size and experience of
company staff who handle facility claims. This is important because the
reinsurance facility, not the insurance company, absorbs the losses settled by
claims staff. If company claims staff is inexperienced or the number of staff
is insufficient, more expenses are likely to be paid by the reinsurance facility.

According to a facility official, facility staff maintain up-to-date information
on the experience of new claims management staff employed by the
designated companies. However, the experience and size of claims staff such
as adjustors are monitored to a lesser degree. Review of staff is limited to
verification that the ratio of a claims supervisor to claims staff’ does not
exceed one supervisor for seven staff (1:7). Facility staff do not review the
claims staff ratio of large voluntary companies.

We reviewed the facility’s operating manual and found that requirements
concerning the size and experience of claims staff are vague. According to
the manual, designated companies are to employ a resident claims manager,
a claims manager, a designated agent field representative, and “sufficient
personnel.” According to facility staff, audit procedures have not been
developed to examine the adequacy of claims staff.
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Reinsurance
Facility Oversight
of Claims and
Underwriting

Ineligible Claim Paid by
Facility

The reinsurance facility audits member companies to determine whether they
are ceding policies and paying claims in compliance with state law and
agency rules. The facility is responsible for paying claims on more than
900,000 policies and ensuring that insurance companies pay the facility the
appropriate premium on their policies. We found that there is inadequate
incentive for companies to comply with some requirements.

In July 1995, the reinsurance facility authorized payment of an ineligible
commercial automobile claim of almost $1 million. As a result, policyholders
of all South Carolina insurance companies pay for the loss through increased
premiums.

During a November 1994 audit of an insurance company’s records, the
facility’s claims manager determined that the facility paid two claims on a”
policy improperly ceded by the company. The company had sold a small
commercial policy, which is usually eligible to be ceded to the facility, to
insure the policyholder’s used car business. The claims paid were:

4 A June 1993 claim of $33,820 for hail damage to 30 automobiles at the
used car dealership.

L1 Personal injury and property damage claims totaling $961,426 as the
result of a single car accident in September 1993, involving a vehicle
owned by the insured.

While investigating these payments, the facility’s claims manager discovered
that the major part of the policyholder’s business came from salvage
operations, not from the sale of used cars. The facility’s plan of operation,
however, lists salvage businesses among risks not eligible to be ceded to the
facility. The claims manager, therefore, requested that the insurance company
reimburse the facility for the two claims paid improperly.

The insurance company appealed the claims manager’s decision, arguing that
he should have notified the company about any problems with the policy
during settlement of the first claim. The claims manager contended, however,
that the company’s claims adjuster should have observed the policyholder’s
salvage business while investigating the first damage claim and should have
reported it.
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The reinsurance facility paid a
$1 million claim that should
not have been paid.

No Reimbursement or
Penalty Required for
Premium Undercharges

in May 1995, an appeals panel ruled that the company should pay the
$33,820 claim and the facility should pay the claim for $961,426. In its
decision, the panel stated that the company did not properly verify that the
policy was eligible to be ceded. It also stated that the company should have
learned that the policy was not eligible to be ceded when it investigated the
first loss and the company should have canceled the policy. The panel stated
that the application contained information indicating that the policy was not
eligible to be ceded. The panel decided that it would allow payment of the
larger loss of $961,426 but not the smaller loss.

Although the $961,426 claim was not valid under facility rules, it was
nonetheless ruled valid in order to protect the insurance company from
“substantial hardship.” Facility rules, however, do not allow exceptions for
hardship.

A consumer representative on the governing board requested that the board
reconsider the panel’s decision, concerned that it might set a precedent for
future questionable claims. In July 1995, the board voted to uphold the
decision of the appeals panel. Furthermore, in May 1996, the board adopted
a change in policy that would authorize payment of such claims in the future.

The reinsurance facility has not required insurance companies to reimburse
the facility when the amount they charge for policy premiums is found to be
lower than the amount required by state law and regulation. Undercharged
premiums result in lost revenue for the facility, which is passed on to
CONSUMETs.

From January 1994 through March 1996:

O Net premium undercharges found during audits of private passenger
policies were approximately $35,600.

@ For commercial policies, net premium undercharges found during audits
were approximately $219,300.

According to facility staff, premium undercharges of $829,000 were detected

from 1981 through 1995, for private passenger and commercial policies
combined.
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Designated
Agents

History of Designated
Agents

Undercharges for private passenger insurance are paid by all drivers through
increased recoupment fees. Undercharges for commercial insurance are paid
by all commercial drivers.

Designated agents sell insurance exclusively for the reinsurance facility.
Below we describe why designated agents should be phased out.

In 1974, the General Assembly recognized that insurance reforms could cause
some insurance companies to terminate sales in South Carolina. This could
leave some geographic areas of South Carolina without adequate access to an
lnsurance agent.

To ensure that (1) all areas of the state had access to an insurance agent and
(2) insurance agents who sold antomobile insurance under the assigned risk
plan did not lose their business, the General Assembly enacted legislation
(now found at §38-77-590) creating “designated agents.” In those locations
of South Carolina determined to have insufficient markets, the director of the
South Carolina Department of Insurance could, but was not required to,
designate insurance agents to sell insurance exclusively for the reinsurance
facility.

According to facility documents, a designated agent was to be appointed for
only one year and renewed for an additional year only if the agent could
show that he had made a “diligent effort” to obtain employment with a
voluntary insurance company but was unsuccessful. Instead of a short-term
remedy, the designated agent system has lasted for more than 22 years and
increased from 46 agents working in 1975 to 170 designated agents as of
September 1996 (an increase of 270%).

In June 1985, the governing board of the reinsurance facility assumed
responsibility for assigning designated agents. Generally, the facility was
authorized to designate an agent if he was terminated and met other criteria
described below. The facility created a designated agent committee to
consider information submitted by applicants and to conduct proceedings for
designation. The committee makes a recommendation to the full board
concerning designation.
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Table 3.2: Designated Agent
Appointments

Insurance policies sold by
designated agents are
sometimes cheaper than
policies sold by voluntary
agents.

In 1985, the statute was amended to establish qualifications for designated
agents. Beginning in 1985, applicants had to be licensed as a property and
casualty agent/principal before October 1974, continuously licensed since that
date, and authorized by an insurance company to sell liability and physical
damage insurance for private passenger vehicles. In 1987, the law was
amended, decreasing the experience requirement to five years. In 1990, the
law was again changed, increasing the experience requirement to ten years.

The number of designated agents has steadily increased since 1974
{see Table 3.2).

. Designatiori
19741975

1976—-1980

19811985

1986—-1989 24 - 114

1990191 28 142
1992-September 1996 28 170

1 Agents designated in these years who are currently designated.

Source: Reinsurance facility records.

In 1995, designated agents sold more than 440,000 auto insurance policies,
accounting for 18% of all policies sold in South Carolina. Policies sold by
designated agents have generated large financial losses which are subsidized
by the driving public through recoupment fees. In some instances, policies
sold by designated agents are cheaper than policies sold by voluntary agents.
We believe that the reforms being implemented by the South Carolina
Department of Insurance and the recommendations we make in this report
will lead to a more competitive insurance market. Designated agents would
no longer be needed and could be phased out.
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Market Access

Table 3.3: Designated Agents in
Areas Already Served by
Voluntary Companies

Our review indicated that many designated agents are in areas of the state
already served by insurance agents in the voluntary market (see Table 3.3).

Columbia
Charleston
Florence 168 5 163
Sumter 153 4 149 84,568
Orangeburg 77 2 75 43,128
Bennetisville 23 1 22 15,751
Cheraw 27 2 25 13,063
Lake City - 38 4 34 11,631
Loris 24 3 21 11,189
Westminster 20 2 18 8,882
Latta 15 3 12 6,435
St. Stephens 12 2 10 5,629

1 Based on ZIP codes.

Source: Reinsurance facility records; South Carolina Departmént of Insurance records; and
1990 census data.

One reason designated agents are in areas already served by voluntary
companies is because the facility has not considered the presence of existing
agents for limited private passenger only designation [(LPPO) agents wanting
to sell only private passenger policies and not commercial policies] as
required by Section 38-77-595. Of 170 designated agents, only 16 agents
(9%) had limited designated status. However, we found that the information
provided on market accessibility when applying for LPPO designation was
contrary to the need for a designated agent in the area, but the reinsurance
facility still granted designation. For example: '

4 In March 1993, a person applied for limited private passenger
designation. The location of his office was to be within %2 mile of another
designated agent’s office and within 1% miles of the offices of several
voluntary Insurance companies. Nevertheless, in April 1993, the board
designated this individual to sell private passenger automobile insurance.
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The reinsurance facility
appoints designated agenis to
serve areas already being
served.

Agents Designated After
They Were Terminated by
Voluntary Companies

[ In June 1992, an applicant for LPPO designation responded that seven
voluntary insurance agencies and one designated agent office served the
same geographic area that he planned to serve. The -board approved
designation for this applicant in August 1992.

(1 An agent from one of the voluntary companies cited in the previous
example applied for LPPO designation in August 1992. Although the
board had recently approved an LPPO designation in this area, this
request for LPPO designation was also granted.

0 As of December 1991, there were 10 designated agent offices and
numerous voluntary insurance offices in Columbia. Nevertheless, the
board approved an LPPO designation, resulting in 11 designated offices
in the city at that time.

The facility’s governing board has not established criteria to determine market
need or marketing outlets. In June 1995, the board created a subcommittee to
review this issue. As of November 1996, the subcommittee had not developed
criteria to determine market need.

State law (§38-77-590) describes the second reason an agent is eligible to sell
insurance for the reinsurance facility. It states that agents “may” be designated
to sell policies (private passenger and small commercial) exclusively for the
facility if they have been “deprived of a market” to sell automobile insurance.

The facility has approved designation when an applicant’s contract with a
voluntary company was canceled due to high loss ratios (the losses on
policies sold by the agent exceeded premiums paid by policyholders). In some
cases, companies specifically stated that the agent was unprofitable. These
agents have been allowed by the state of South Carolina to sell unprofitable
insurance policies, and losses have been paid by all drivers through
recoupment.
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When voluntary companies
have terminated agents for
excessive financial losses, the
facility has appointed the
agents to be “designated
agents.”

The facility has approved the following to be designated agents.

W

In 1985, a person who was previously designated and became a voluntary
agent reapplied for designation. This person was appointed as a
designated agent when his business was unprofitable; in contrast, when
his business became profitable he became an agent with a voluntary
company. The agent reapplied for designation after his contract was
canceled by the voluntary company effective October 1, 1985 due to an
“unprofitable loss ratio each year” from 1981 to 1985. The facility’s
governing board approved the agent’s designation to become effective on
October 1, 1985.

In April 1987, an agent who had previously been terminated by four
voluntary insurance companies applied for designation. Facility
documents confirm that the agent’s termination from at least two of the
companies was because he was caunsing the insurance companies to lose
money. (Documentation regarding the reason(s) for termination by the
other two companies was not included in the agent’s file.) In May 1987,
the reinsurance facility approved this person as a designated agent.

An agent lost his contract to sell private passenger automobile insurance
for a voluntary company because of “unprofitable loss results” in five of
six years. The agent applied for designation in May 1993 and the
reinsurance facility designated him in July 1993.

A person who applied for designation in March 1989 was notified by a
voluntary company that his contract had been canceled in February 1989.
The agent’s contract was terminated due to “excessively high loss ratios”
for private passenger automobile insurance. In April 1989, the board
notified this individual that he had been approved as a designated agent.

The facility believes it is required to approve designation if an agent’s
contract has been terminated by a voluntary company and the agent meets
other requirements established in state law (excluding LPPO designations).
Therefore, the facility has not considered the availability of voluntary
companies and other factors when considering an applicant for “full”
designation.
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Transfer of Designation

For the purpose of
transferring designation, a 35-
year-old man, who wanted to
become a designated agent,
adopted a 70-year-old man.

Restrictions on Becoming
a Designated Agent

State law allows a designated agent to transfer his designation to a spouse,
child, parent, or sibling upon the agent’s retirement, incapacity, or death. Our
review of designated agent files showed the following: '

A 35-year-old man adopted a 70-year-old designated agent for the
purpose of transferring his business. As of November 1996, the
reinsurance facility had not granted the transfer. '

[ In January 1986, a designated agent was convicted of defrauding the
federal government. In July 1986, the agent requested that his designation
be transferred to his wife. Immediately following this request, the
facility’s governing board voted to revoke his status as a designated
agent. In September 1986, an appeals panel of the board reversed the
board’s decision to revoke the designation of this agent. In November
1986, the board approved the transfer of designation to this individual’s
spouse. The former agent agreed not to be involved in the business.

During our review of designated agent records, we noted that qualifications
outlined for designation in §38-77-590 may restrict the appointment of
women and minority agents. Qur review showed that only 4 (2%) of the 170
agents designated as of September 1996 were minorities, and that 3 of these
agents were located in the same geographical area. In addition, 27 (16%)
were women.

According 1o insurance and reinsurance facility officials, certain laws restrict
the appointment of minorities as designated agents. An official of the South
Carolina Department of Insurance stated that this may be due to the
reluctance of voluntary companies to employ minorities for fear that they will
service a large volume of risky business. Since state law requires ten
continuous years of experience as a property and casualty insurance agent to
become a designated agent, the pool of potential minority designated agents
is limited. The facility official stated that minorities have contacted the
facility regarding designation but have not met legal requirements such as the
experience requirement.

For example, an African-American agent applied for designation in 1986.
Facility documents indicate that this applicant did not meet the criteria for
designation in part because he was not licensed as a property and casualty
agent before October 1974, a requirement at that time. This would result in
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Few women and minorities
are designated agents.

Designated Agent
Earnings

12 years of experience. However, the applicant had been licensed since 1976
and, therefore, had about ten years of experience.

Based on 1990 U.S. census data, South Carolina has a minority population of
31%. Minority agents have been granted designation in 3 of the state’s 46
counties. Minorities in these counties account for only 7% of the state’s
minority population. For example, Williamsburg county, a rural location with
a minority population of 64% has no minority designated agents.
Additionally, there are no minority designated agents in Richland or Sumter
counties, with minority populations of approximately 44% and 45%,
respectively. '

In 1987, the General Assembly recognized restrictions to appointment as a
designated agent. The law was changed in 1987 to require only five
continuous years of experience as a property and casualty agent in order to
qualify as a designated agent. Also, legislation was passed authorizing, for
three years, the facility’s governing board to approve applicants who met all
the requirements, except having a contract to sell property and casualty
insurance. No minorities were granted designation during this period. In 1990,
the experience requirement for designated agents was changed to ten years.

The reinsurance facility pays designated agents 12% of the premiums as a
commission. Voluntary agents generally eam an average of 10% commission.
Insurance and facility officials stated that the discrepancy in the percentage
of commission is due primarily to designated agents having more interaction
with their customers. They stated that designated agents are likely to have
more policy reinstatements due to lapses in coverage.

We calculated the commissions paid to designated agents in FY 94-95 and
present the top 20 commissions in Table 3.4 . We were unable to determine
the average expenses incurred by these agents, such as the costs of rent and
office staff, and therefore have not estimated their net earnings. Also, the
tabie includes only the commissions from policies ceded to the facility.
Designated agents may sell other lines of insurance, such as homeowners
insurance, and earn commissions selling these policies.
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Table 3.4: October 1994 to
September 1995: Top 20
Designated Agent Commissions

Verification of
Data on Ceded
Policies

Richland $755,801

Greenville $696,428

Charleston $611,378

Richiand $608,689

Richland $575,664

Charleston $568,165

Charleston $560,505

Florence $482,981

Charleston $449,353

Agent 10 Sumter $406,296
Agent 11 Anderson $368,998
Agent 12 Spartanburg $358,521
Agent 13 Horry $345,977
Agent 14 Aiken $342,038
Agent 15 Richland $341,067
Agent 16 York $340,795
Agent 17 York $333,391
Agent 18 Horry $317,858
Agent 19 Spartanburg $296,530
Agent 20 Greenville $266,762

1  Commissions for designated agents are 12% of the amount collected
in premiums and recoupment fees.

Source: Reinsurance facility and designated company records.

The reinsurance facility has not verified the accuracy of insurance data that
companies must provide on ceded policies. Insurance companies submit to
AIPSO financial information on policies, including the amount of premiums
collected, recoupment fees, claims paid, and administrative expenses. AIPSO,
located in Rhode Island, processes this information for the reinsurance facility
which uses it to determine how much insurance companies are owed for
claims and expenses. Therefore, these data have a major impact on the
amount of recoupment fees. Facility staff conduct claims and underwriting
audits but these reviews do not focus on all information submitted to AIPSO
(see p. 24).

We found that insurance companies have submitted inaccurate data
concerning their expenses. For example, when a company’s expense to
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Conclusion

service claims exceeds a certain limit, the facility requests the company to
review the accuracy of its reports. For FY 96-97, 2 of 22 companies
exceeding the expense allowance revised their reports. In one of these cases,
the company’s revisions resylted in a reduction in the facility rate of
reimbursement from 34% to 28% of written premiums. The total expenses
based on the revised rate will be determined in December 1997.

In the remaining 20 cases where the limit was exceeded, the companies stated
that their expense data were correct and in some cases provided reasons for
the increase. However, the facility conducted no follow-up to verify the

-accuracy of this data.

As a result of policies and practices of the facility’s govemning board,
insurance companies have inadequate incentive to control costs that are paid
with recoupment fees. The board has implemented a system in which
companies are paid based on the amount of losses but has not developed a
system to reward companies when costs are lower. The board has allowed the
payment of ineligible claims by the facility and has not assessed penalties
against companies charging a lower premium than required by law. Ineligible
claims and undercharges result in higher facility costs which are ultimately
paid by all South Carolina drivers.

Finally, according to facility records, the appointment of designated agents
who sell policies for the reinsurance facility, was to be short term. However,
the designated agent system has operated for over 20 years and the number
of designated agents has more than tripled since 1974. Over 40% of the
policies ceded to the facility are sold by designated agents.

We could find no reason to continue the system of designated agents and
companies. If this system were phased out, and if insurance companies were
given flexibility to charge adequate premiums, most high-risk drivers would
find insurance companies that would sell them policies voluntarily. In
addition, voluntary companies that specialize in serving high-risk drivers
would be likely to open offices in South Carolina.

Our recommendations to improve management of South Carolina’s residual
market begin on page 52.
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Enforcement of
Insurance and
Safety Laws

Uninsured Motorists

The number of motorists
driving without insurance has
- been increasing.

State law requires any South Carolina automobile operated on a public road
to be covered by liability insurance. However, a large number of South
Carolinians drive without insurance. South Carolina has one of the highest
highway death rates.

In this chapter, we examine methods to improve the enforcement of insurance

laws. We describe legislative changes which could improve traffic safety,
which could lead to lower insurance rates.

As previously discussed, all policyholders subsidize drivers in the reinsurance
facility by paying mandatory recoupment fees. Drivers who do not purchase
insurance avoid paying recoupment fees. In this section, we describe how law
enforcement agencies have not enforced laws intended to detect and deter
uninsured drivers and we discuss changes which could strengthen
enforcement.

One of the goals of the insurance reforms recommended by a legislative study
committee in 1973 and 1974 was to eliminate uninsured motorists. This goal
has not been achieved. In 1974, a legislative study committee estimated that
approximately 150,000 vehicles in South Carolina were not covered by
insurance. This was approximately 9% of the total vehicle population. The
committee found this to ©. . . constitute a most serious problem . . .” and
made recommendations designed to reduce the number of vehicles being
driven uninsured. These recommendations included increasing enforcement
and creating stricter penalties for drivers found driving without insurance. The
committee noted that reducing the number of uninsured drivers would reduce
the uninsured motorists premium paid by South Carolina drivers by perhaps
as much as two-thirds.

However, evidence indicates that the percentage of uninsured vehicles has not
decreased and the total number of uninsured vehicles on South Carolina’s
roads has actually increased in the 22 years since the enactment of reforms
to eliminate uninsured motorists. We reviewed several sources of uninsured
motorist data and found that estimates of the percentage of uninsured
motorists in South Carolina generally ranged from 9% to 11% (see Table
4.1). The most recent estimates placed the number of uninsured motorists
from 10% to 16%. Applying these percentages to the total number of vehicles
registered indicates that between 285,000 and 450,000 vehicles in South
Carolina may be uninsured. In FY 94-95, state and local law enforcement
agencies were responsible for the suspension of 8,449 drivers’ licenses for
driving uninsured vehicles.
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Table 4.1: Estimated Percentage
and Number of Uninsured Drivers
in South Carolina for Selected
Years

Enforcement of Proof of
Insurance Laws

1974 9% 150,000

1985 11% 251,343
1988 11% 272,502
1995 10% 285,299

Source: Legislative study on auto insurance, Insurance Research Council Report,
Best's Insurance Management Reports; Depariment of Public Safety
Financial Respensibility (FR) section statistics and interviews with FR staff.

Reducing the number of uninsured drivers can help lower insurance costs for
all drivers. For example, the minimum recoupment fee for a liability policy
was $38.15 in FY 95-96. If all motorists purchased automobile insurance, as
required by law, between $10.9 million and $17.1 million in extra
recoupment fees could have been collected, thereby reducing recoupment fees
for all drivers.

In addition, the average annual auto liability premium South Carolina
motorists paid in 1994 was $402. If all vehicles had this required coverage,
then between $115 and $180 million in additional premiums could have been
collected by insurance companies, thereby reducing anto insurance premiums
for all South Carolina drivers.

South Carolina law enforcement agencies have not strictly enforced laws that
require motorists to maintain automobile insurance coverage. For example,
the Department of Public Safety (DPS) has not enforced state laws requiring
that motorists provide proof of insurance when stopped for a traffic violation
or when renewing their driver’s license.

Until June 1996, §56-7-12 of the South Carolina Code of Laws required that
when a driver was issued a ticket for a moving violation by a police officer,
“ . .. [the motorist] must be furnished a written request form to be completed
by him and his insurance company or the agent issuing the policy to verify
liability insurance coverage.” According to DPS officials, neither the highway
patrol nor local law enforcement agencies have been enforcing §56-7-12. This
law was amended June 5, 1996 dropping the requirement that a police officer
give motorists a form. The law still allows an officer to give a motorist the
form at his discretion.
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Law enforcement agencies
have not enforced laws
requiring motorists to provide
proof of insurance.

Confiscation of Motor
Vehicles

Section 56-1-80 states that all persons obtaining a driver’s license for the first
time or renewing it “ . . . must be furnished a written request form for
completion and verification of liability insurance coverage.” Failure to
comply will result in suspension of the motorist’s driver’s license. While DPS
does require newly licensed drivers to provide proof of insurance coverage,
it does not require persons renewing their license to prove they have
msurance.

DPS officials stated that the administrative costs associated with implementing
these laws would be burdensome. Statewide, approximately 460,000 moving
violation tickets were issued in calendar year 1995. Local governments and
sheriff offices have also expressed concerns about the administrative and
financial burdens created by this statute. One town passed an ordinance
opposing the imposition of the administrative requirements of the moving
violations program. A concern for police officer safety was also cited as a
reason for not implementing the requirement. We did not find any other
southeastern state which has a requirement that persons provide proof of
insurance after being ticketed for a moving violation.

DPS issued approximately 69,000 new driver licenses and renewed
approximately 440,000 in FY 94-95. According to a DPS official, the
provision in §56-1-80 requiring verification of insurance coverage at time of
license renewal was included because parents were failing to notify insurance
companiecs when their teenage children obtained a license. However, DPS
concluded that a law targeting just teenagers would -be discriminatory. Thus,
the provision requiring persons to provide proof of insurance when renewing
a license was added.

Since DPS does not enforce these statutes, individuals driving without
insurance are less likely to be detected. An increased number of uninsured
drivers on the road can indirectly increase insurance costs.

The Department of Public Safety (DPS) has not confiscated vehicles of
motorists caught driving under suspension as required by law. Section
56-5-6240 of the South Carolina Code of Laws states that the vehicle of a
motorist arrested for the fourth or subsequent offense driving under
suspension (DUS) or driving under the influence (DUI) must have his vehicle
confiscated by a law enforcement officer at the time of arrest.

We attempted to determine the number of vehicles that have been confiscated
under this provision. However, neither DPS’ Division of Motor Vehicles
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Law enforcement agencies
have not confiscated the
vehicles of motorists caught
driving under suspension as
required by law.

(DMV) nor the State Highway Patrol maintains information on the total
number of motorists with a fourth DUS or DUI who have had their vehicles
confiscated. '

We reviewed a sample of 33 tickets issued by the State Highway Patrol and
various local law enforcement agencies in which the drivers had been cited
for a fourth or greater DUS conviction within the last five years to determine
if the vehicle had been confiscated. In 19 cases the vehicle was not eligible
for confiscation because it did not meet the statutory requirements for
confiscation. (For example, if the car’s owner does not reside at the same
address as the driver then the vehicle may not be subject to confiscation.)
However, we identified 14 instances where the vehicle should have been
confiscated. In 12 of the 14, the vehicle was not confiscated as required by
law. Law enforcement officials gave varying reasons for not confiscating the
vehicles.

O In three cases, the vehicles were not confiscated because the officer
believed the cost of confiscation was greater than the vehicle’s value.

O In four cases, lack of proper training in confiscation requirements was
cited as the reason for failing to confiscate the vehicle.

1 In one case, the vehicle was not confiscated after the fourth DUS but was
confiscated after the sixth DUS.

O In one case, the vehicle was towed and then returned after the driver
showed proof of insurance.

[ In one case, the officer was unaware that the motorist was driving under
suspension,

A In two cases, no reason was given for failing to confiscate the vehicle.

We requested information from the 46 county sheriffs on the number of
confiscated vehicles turned over to them by the highway patrol. We received
responses from 6 sheriffs who reported 12 confiscated vehicles turned over
to them by the highway patrol. Greenville and Beaufort counties reported no
confiscated vehicles being turned over to them in 1995. Lexington county
reported receiving four confiscated vehicles and Charleston county reported
receiving three vehicles from the highway patrol in 1995. We also requested
the number of vehicles confiscated by sheriffs’ departments under §56-5-
6240. The 6 sheriffs’ offices reported 83 vehicles were confiscated by their
departments in 1995.
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Seizure of License Plates
of Uninsured Drivers

South Carolina’s program for
confiscating the license plates
of uninsured vehicles could be
improved.

According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA),
while confiscation laws are common across the United States, application of
the law is rare. State and local law enforcement officials stated that the
administrative costs associated with the confiscation of vehicles make
confiscation a burdensome procedure. The process needed to obtain title to
the vehicles is cumbersome. In addition, the vehicles that are confiscated are
generally older cars and the amount of money received when the vehicles are
sold is minimal. The NHTSA recommends that states establish a record-
keeping system for monitoring the confiscation of vehicles.

By not actively confiscating vehicles, individuals with multiple convictions

for DUS and DUI may continue to drive. This can resuit in increased
insurance costs for South Carolina motorists. In a memo dated November 12,
1996, DPS notified all troopers of the requirement to seize vehicles of

~ motorists caught for fourth offense DUS or DUL

South Carolina’s program for seizing the license plates of drivers whose tags
were suspended for failure to provide proof of insurance could be improved.
In addition, the seizure efforts of local law enforcement agencies are
inconsistent.

Section 56-10-45 of the South Carolina Code of Laws currently allows the
Department of Public Safety to contract with local law enforcement agencies
for the seizure of tags. However, according to DPS officials, they have not
entered into any contracts. In addition, §56-10-45 allows local law
enforcement agencies to retain the fines associated with failure to turn in
license tags. However, a large number of individuals still are not having their
tags seized.

Between January and April 1996, the highway patrol received data indicating
that 40,000 moterists may be driving without insurance and should have
turned in their license plates. Only 27,000 (68%) of these cases were
investigated during this time period. In response to our request for
information on the number of tags seized, six sheriffs responded. The number
varied significantly from county to couaty. For example, two counties
reported they did not seize any tags. Another county reported collecting 3
tags while another reported collecting 350 tags.
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Stiffer Penalties for
Repeatedly Driving
Uninsured or Driving
Under the Influence

One technique that is being tested in Florida to help increase the seizure of
license plates is allowing repossession agencies to seize the tags of motorists
who have failed to provide proof of insurance. This pilot project was begun
in October 1995 for a three-county area of Florida. Under the program,
“repo” agents are paid $25 for each tag seized. As of October 1, 1996, 927
tags were seized by these agents. In an October 1996 review, Florida found
that the program helped to reduce the number of uninsured drivers in the pilot
counties. Improving the program for the seizure of license tags could help
keep uninsured motorists off the road. In addition, it could result in increased
revenue from reinstatement fees and help reduce insurance costs for all
drivers across South Carolina.

Amending §56-10-270 and §56-5-6240 of the South Carolina Code of Laws
to allow for confiscating the automobiles of motorists driving an uninsured
vehicle for the third time, DUS third offense, or third offense driving under

_the influence (DUT) should be considered. South Carolina law (§56-5-6240)

only allows for confiscation of a vehicle after fourth offense DUI or DUS.

Violators of the state’s hunting and fishing laws face harsher penalties than
violators of the state’s DUS and DUI laws. For example, a person caught
hunting deer or bears at night forfeits all the equipment involved, including
guns, cars and animals. A person caught trawling for shrimp, fish, or crabs
without a license or permit or taking shrimp out of season is subject to having
his boat, rigging, and equipment being confiscated and sold to the highest
bidder (sce Table 4.2). These penalties are in addition to any fines or prison
terms that can be imposed.
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Table 4.2: Comparison of
Department of Natural Resources
Violations to Major Traffic
Violations

First-time violators of some
hunting laws face harsher
confiscation penalties than
motorists caught driving under

the influence for the third time.

First and subsequent offense hunting bears out of season
First and subsequent offense night hunting of deer or
bears

First and subsequent offense trawling for shrimp, fish, or YES
crabs without a license or permit.
First and subsequent offense taking or catching shrimp YES

over bait during the closed season.

First, second, or third offense driving under the influence. NO

First, second, or third offense driving under suspension. NO
First, second, or third offense driving without insurance. NC

1 Automohile, boat, andfor hunting and fishing equipment can be confiscated.

Source: South Carolina Code of Laws

Other states have higher fines and longer suspensions for driving without
proof of insurance. For example, in Hawaii, the fine is $1,000. In South
Dakota, the period of suspension is one year. In South Carolina, the
maximum fine is $200 and a license suspension of 30 days.

A study done by the National Association of Insurance Commissioners
(NAIC) suggests that strict enforcement of the law, with mandatory and
“significant” fines for first time offenders may be the key to lowering the
uninsured motorist population, According to a 1989 NAIC report, “the risk of
a $100 fine may simply not be enough to counterbalance the relatively remote
chance of being caught without insurance.”

Four of six county sheriffs responding to our survey suggested that stiffer
penalties would help to reduce the number of uninsured and unsafe drivers
on South Carolina’s roads. Approximately 8,500 (42%) of the 203,000
license suspensions processed in FY 94-95 were the result of driving without
insurance.
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Sampling Program for
Uninsured Motorists

Random sampling of vehicle
registrations could detect
uninsured vehicles.

The Department of Public Safety has discontinued reviewing a random
sample of vehicle registrations to determine if motorists are driving uninsured.
Random sampling can be an effective means of determining the number of
nninsured motorists statewidé and enforcing uninsured motorists laws.

When a vehicle is registered, the owner is not required to provide proof of
insurance. Instead, the owner signs a statement certifying that the vehicle is
insured. Between FY 90-91 and FY 93-94, the financial responsibility (FR)
section of DPS randomly selected approximately 500 vehicle registrations
each week for verification. The FR section sent a letter to the insurance
company shown on the registration requesting verification of insurance. The
insurance company reviewed its records and then notified the FR section
when its records indicated the person listed was not insured. The percentage
of vehicles found to be uninsured using this method ranged from 0.2% to
1.4%. This suggests that most vehicles are covered by insurance at the time
of registration.

Section 56-10-10 requiring owners to provide a statement certifying insurance
coverage was amended in 1994. The amendment changed the reporting
requirements so that the policy number and policy expiration date were no
longer required. Without this information, DPS felt it could no longer
continue the sampling program and it was discontinued.

We identified ten states that have sampling programs. In addition to its
random sampling program, [llinois also has a targeted sampling program. For
example, drivers who were cited for past violations, including driving without
insurance, are sent questionnaires asking for proof of a current insurance
policy. An estimated 15% to 24% of the motorists in the targeted groups have
been found not to have insurance a year later compared to 4% of those
checked as part of a random sample.
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Other Policy
Considerations

A Graduated
Licensing System

Table 4.3: Nationwide
Comparative Accident Rates by
Age for 1990

This section outlines several policy issues which could improve traffic safety.
In 1973, a legislative study committee found that South Carolina had a
proportionally high rate of traffic accidents and deaths. In 1992, South
Carolina’s death rate of 2.3 per 100 million miles traveled continued to be
above the national average of 1.8. Only eight other states had death rates
greater than South Carolina’s. In 1994, there were 120,947 traffic collisions
resulting in 847 deaths and 56,868 injuries in South Carolina. Other states
have implemented laws and programs which have helped to reduce fatalities.
Reducing the number of accidents and fatalities would help lower insurance
premiums. Some examples are discussed below.

Young drivers (teenagers) are involved in more vehicle accidents than the
population as a whole (see Table 4.3). One program that could lower young
driver accident rates is graduated licensing. In addition, raising the
unrestricted driver’s license age could also lower young driver accident rates.

43

17 30
18-19 . 15
20-24 5

25 and older 3

Source: Insurance Instifute for Highway Safety.

South Carolina allows 15-year-olds to obtain a driver’s permit. After holding
a permit for 14 days and passing a road test, a 15-year-old may drive during
daylight hours. In North Carolina and Georgia, a license may be obtained at
age 16 without having a permit.

- Young drivers drive fewer miles, but have more accidents than older drivers.

Several characteristics distinguish teenage drivers from older drivers.
Teenagers are more likely to be in single vehicle accidents, to make driving
errors, to be driving too fast, and to have high passenger occupancy rates.
Also, while only 20% of their time is spent driving at night, more than 50%
of fatal accidents involving teenage drivers occur at night.
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A graduated licensing system
could improve the driving
skills of teenage drivers.

Graduated licensing is based on the premise that younger drivers can improve
driving skills and reduce crash rates by progressing through stages before
reaching unrestricted licensure. Graduated licensing systems include three
stages—a learner’s permit stage, an intermediate or restricted stage, and full
licensure. Some characteristics of the stages are:

Learner’s Permit Stage

« Person must be a minimum age (for example 15 % years old).

» Pass knowledge test.

»  All driving supervised by a licensed parent, guardian, or adult age 21 or
older.

*  Must remain accident- and conviction-free for six months to obtain an
intermediate license.

»  Permit canceled if applicant convicted of an alcohol-related offense.

Intermediate Licensure

» Person must be a minimum age (for example 16 years old).

» Pass road test.

*  Successful completion of permit stage.

»  Successful completion of basic driver education.

* Resiricted driving hours unless supervised. :

»  Must remain accident- and conviction-free for 12 consecutive months.
» License revocation for alcohol-related offense.

Full License
«  Must be a minimum age (for example 17 years old).
*  Successful completion of intermediate stage.

Studies in California and Maryland involving drivers under the age of 18
showed a 5% reduction in the rate of accidents after they implemented
graduated licensing. A comparison of Heensing requirements and crash rates
for young drivers in 5 northeastern states showed the highest rates of 16-year-
old involvement in fatal and non-fatal accidents in states that allow
unrestricted licensing at age 16. States that have nighttime driving restrictions
for 16-year-oids had much lower overall accident rates.

Research has shown that graduated licensing systems reduce the number of
teenage accidents. Eight states have graduated licensing. They are California,
Colorado, Maryland, Massachusetts, New York, Pennsylvania, West Virginia,
and Wisconsin. Illinois, New Jersey, Oregon and Vermont have partial
graduated licensing.
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Methods for
Reducing Driving
Under the
Influence

Zero Tolerance For
Drivers Under 21

In 1994, 16,589 (41%) of the 40,676 motor vehicle deaths nationwide
mvolved alcohol use by drivers. Estimates place the cost of alcohol-related
crashes in lost productivity, medical costs, property damage and other
expenses at more than $46 billion in 1995, In 1995, in South Carolina,
alcohol or drugs were the probable causes in 5,412 accidents resulting in 138
deaths. A number of states have adopted measures to try to curb drunk
driving. Among these measures are administrative license revocation, zero
tolerance for underage drinkers, and establishment of “illegal per se” laws.
These laws have reportedly contributed to reducing the number of fatalities
involving alcohol. These laws can also help to lower insurance rates by
making roads safer.

Further, under the federal Intermodal Surface Transportation Efficiency Act
of 1991 (Pub. L. No. 102-240), states that adopt these types of laws can
become eligible for incentive grants. According to 2 NHTSA official, South
Carolina could receive between $1.6 and $4 million over five years which
could be used to enhance enforcement and public relations efforts designed
to curb drunk driving.

All 50 states have laws prohibiting the purchase and public consumption of
alcohol by persons under age 21. Therefore, drivers under age 21 should have
no alcohol in their blood systems. “Zero tolerance” laws provide for the
immediate suspension of a driver’s license for any person under age 21 who
shows a blood alcohol content (BAC) level of .02 or greater. South Carolina
is one of 23 states that do not have a zero tolerance law.

Nationwide in 1991, 20% of 15- to 20-year-old drivers involved in fatal
crashes had a BAC above .10. Approximately 33% had BAC between .01 and
.09. Since younger drivers are generally more inexperienced, any amount of
alcohol can amplify driver impairment. The risk of a fatal crash for those
under 21 with a low BAC is substantially higher than people over 25 with a
low BAC. For example, male drivers aged 16 to 20 with a BAC between .01
and .04 have six times the fatality risk in single driver accidents of drivers
over age 25 with a similar BAC level.

Zero tolerance laws can also serve as a strong deterrent since young drivers

place a high value on having a drver’s license. As of September 1995, 27
states and the District of Columbia have passed zero tolerance laws, A study
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“lllegal Per Se” Laws
Could Assist In Deterring
Driving Under the
Influence

in Maryland concluded that its zero tolerance law resulted in an 11%
reduction in collisions involving drivers under age 21 who had been drinking.
A study of four other states showed a 34% decline in adolescent nighttime
fatal crashes. Another study of 12 states with lower BAC limits for underage
drinkers found a 16% decline in single vehicle. nighttime fatal crashes for
drivers under 21.

South Carolina is one of two states (Massachusetts is the other) which does
not have an “illegal per se” DUI law. Under §56-5-2950 of the South
Carolina Code of Laws, a driver with a blood alcohol content (BAC) level of
.10 is inferred to be driving under the influence. However, having a BAC of
.10 is not necessarily a violation. Under an “illegal per se” law, any driver
who has an alcohol level at or above a certain BAC is deemed to be in
violation of the law whether or not there is additional evidence, such as
behavioral signs, of intoxication.

At a BAC of .10 drivers have been found to suffer from divided attention,
have substantially reduced information processing skills, and bave impaired
performance of basic driving related tasks, (i.e. steering, braking, and speed
control). The nisk of death in single vehicle crashes is 48 times greater for
drivers with BACs of .10 than for drivers with a zero BAC. In two separate
reports to the United States Congress in 1991 and 1992, the National
Highway Transportation Safety Administration (NHTSA) recommended that
states establish illegal per se laws. In 1985, the Governor’s Office of
Highway Safety recommended passage of an illegal per se law. Illegal per se
laws make it easier for police officers since they provide an objective
standard against which an officer can determine if the driver is in violation
of the law,
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Administrative License
Revocation

One enforcement tool other states are using to control drunk driving is
administrative license revocation {ALR). This is administrative action against
a driver’s license independent of any criminal action against the driver. As of
March 1995, 38 states and the District of Columbia have ALR laws which
allow for the immediate confiscation of a driver’s licence if a driver fails or
refuses to take a blood alcohol test. Under these laws, the motorist’s license
is taken immediately by the arresting officer and the motorist is given a
temporary driving permit for a specified period of time, during which the
suspension may be appealed. If there is no appeal, or the confiscation is
upheld, then the license is revoked or suspended for a prescribed period of
time.

According to information provided by the Insurance Institute for Highway
Safety (ITHS), because the license revocation is immediate and not dependent
on a conviction, it is more effective than the traditional post conviction
suspension. Even though motorists with suspended licenses will continue to
drive in certain cases, a 1988 study showed they generally drive safer, with
fewer accidents and traffic violations. A stady by the IIHS found that these
laws reduce the number of alcohol related nighttime traffic accidents by 9%.

In a number of states, ALR laws have been challenged as unconstitutional on
the basis that they result in double jeopardy. The argument is that an
administrative suspension of a driver’s license followed by criminal
prosecution for YUT punishes the person twice for the same offense.
However, according to an official with the National Committee on Uniform
Traffic Laws and Ordinances, the constitutionality of these laws has been
upheld in every state in which they were challenged.

An additional concern is that violators may lose their jobs. However, two
studies bave shown that only about 1% of violators risk losing their jobs. The
administrative costs of the program are generally covered by reinstatement
fees paid by drivers at the end of their suspensions.
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Consumer
Information From
the Department of
Insurance

Efforts to Protect
Consumers Against
Discriminatory Practices

Consumers nieed information about automobile insurance so they can make
informed decisions when choosing an insurance company. The department of
insurance sponsors a variety of activities to assist consumers with questions
and problems related to auto insurance. These activities include:

[ Publishing a price comparison, mandated by law, of the 20 companies
selling the most automobile insurance in the state.

4 Providing brochures which explain how South Carolina’s auto insurance
laws, and any changes in them, affect the consumer.

O Maintaining a toll-free telephone line for consumers with questions or
complaints about automobile insurance.

0 Distributing consumer information at large public gatherings, such as
shopping malls, auto shows, or the state fair.

[ Speaking to civic and school groups and at senior citizens’ centers.

} Maintaining a site on the Internet for quickly disseminating information
on auto insurance to consumers across the state.

Effective October 1, 1996, state law no longer requires insurance companies
to sell physical damage coverage to every consumer who requests it. Instead,
insurance companies will decide whether to insure a vehicle for physical
damage based on the driver’s chance of having an accident.

Section 38-77-280(F) gives the director of the department of insurance
authority to impose a fine of up to $200,000 when an insurer, agent, or
broker participates in a patten of illegal discrimination in the sale of physical
damage insurance. Illegal discrimination is defined as sales practices based
on race, color, creed, religion, national origin, ancestry, territories not
approved by the director, economic status, and income.
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An official with the department of insurance reports that it is developing a
program to help protect consumers from illegal discriminatory practices. The
plan calls for the following activities: ‘

[d Publishing and distributing a brochure explaining what is in the new law
and how it will affect consumers.

Providing “shopper’s guides” for the best premium under the new law.

Helping consumers investigate why an insurance company refused to sell
physical damage coverage to them.

3 Educating consumers on their rights using both published materials and
community outreach programs.

A Obtaining names of consumers who have been turned down by insurance
companies and comparing them with records at the department of
transportation.

As previously discussed, states have adopted different systems in an attempt
to provide access to automobile insurance for all drivers (see p. 1). These
systems include the use of reinsurance facilities, joint underwriting
associations, and assigned risk plans. Another alternative that has been
adopted by several states is the automobile insurance system known as no-
fault.

No-faunlt is a system of insurance under which drivers involved in accidents
recover financial losses from their own company, regardless of fault.
However, under no-fault, the right of the victim to sue the driver is restricted.
States with no-fault set a threshold below which individuals cannot sue.
These thresholds are based either on a dollar amount (monetary) or on
specific categories of bodily injury (verbal) such as death or serious
disfigurement.

As of May 1996, 13 states had no-fault insurance laws. Three states
(Kentucky, New Jersey, and Pennsylvania) have what is referred to as
“choice” no-fault. Under this system, owners may choose whether or not to
be covered under the traditional tort system (and, therefore, retain the right
to sue) or be covered under a no-fault system, without the right to sue.
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Conclusion

The number of uninsured drivers in South Carolina has increased since 1973.
Uninsured motorists cost the state between $10.9 million and $17.1 million
in uncollected recoupment fees and cause insurance companies to lose
between $115 and $180 million in uncollected premiums. Stricter enforcement
of the state’s proof of insurance and confiscation laws, reinstatement of a
sampling program for uninsured motorists, improvements in the seizure of
license tags, and stiffer penalties for driving uninsured could help reduce
these losses.

South Carolina’s death rate per 100 million miles traveled has consistently
remained above the national average. A number of states have passed laws
which have led to a decrease in the number of accidents and fatalities. States
that have implemented a graduated licensing system for young drivers have
shown a decrease in the rate of accidents. In addition, states have passed a
number of laws that have helped reduced the frequency of driving under the
influence. These include laws that mandate zero tolerance of alcohol usage
by voung drivers, and administrative license revocation laws for motorists
arrested for driving under the influence.

Stricter enforcement of current laws as well as the passage of additional laws
could help reduce the number of uninsured and unsafe drivers on South
Carolina’s highways.

Our recommendations to improve enforcement of traffic and compulsory
insurance laws begins on page 54.
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Recommendations to Reform South
Carolina’s Automobile Insurance System

Reducing the Size
of South
Carolina’s
Residual Market

In this chapter we list our recommendations to reform South Carolina’s
automobile insurance system based on the following objectives:

0

Insurance companies should be required to operate in a competitive
environment.

Premiums should be permitted to vary based on the statistical risk that a
driver will cause the company to incur losses and expenses.

Premiums should not be permitted to vary based on race, religion,
ethnicity, and related factors.

A process should exist to help drivers purchase a policy when they
encounter difficulty finding an insurance company that will sell them a
policy voluntarily.

. The following recommendations, if fully implemented, Would constitute a

major reform of South Carolina’s automobile insurance system. To minimize
disruptions during transition, it might be advantageous to phase in these
recommendations over a period of time, not to exceed three years.

The General Assembly should consider amending state law to:

*+ No longer require insurance companies to use state-mandated rating

classifications, territories, surcharges, discounts, and credits.

* Add a requirement that insurance companies submit and obtain
approval from the department of insurance prior to using rating
classifications, territories, surcharges, discounts, and credits.

* Allow msurance companies to refuse to sell insurance to any driver
for reasons other than race, religion, ethnicity and related factors.

* No longer require that specific premium levels be approved by the
department of insurance.
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The General Assembly should consider amending state law to:

Replace the reinsurance facility with an assigned risk system. The
department of insurance should be consulted regarding the specific
design of the assigned risk system.

Eliminate recoupment fees charged to drivers.

Repeal §38-77-590 of the South Carolina Code of Laws which
authorizes the appointment of designated agents. As originally
planned, designated agents should be allowed up to one year to find
a voluntary company to represent.

If the General Assembly chooses not to replace the facility, it should consider
requiring that all liability policies ceded to the reinsurance facility be ceded
at a self-sustaining premium.

If the General Assembly chooses not to replace the facility, the reinsurance
facility should:

Implement a system to reward companies that reduce the claims and
expense costs paid by the reinsurance facility.

Analyze expenses that are paid to voluntary companies for ceded
policies and determine if these expenses should be lowered.

Not make exceptions to its rules of operation in authorizing payment
of claims on policies ceded to the facility.

Establish rules to recover premium undercharges from insurance
companies and establish and enforce penalties for premium
undercharges.

Review on a regular basis the adequacy of claims staff employed by
designated insurance companies and large voluntary companies.

Conduct random audits to verify the accuracy of financial information
submitted to AIPSO.

If the General Assembly chooses not to replace the facility, the South

Carolina Department of Insurance should continue its investigations into

illegal strategies used by drivers and insurance agents to pay lower insurance

rates.
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If the designated agent system is retained, the General Assembly should
consider:

Repealing §38-77-590(1) regarding the transfer of designated agents’
businesses.

Enacting legislation to prohibit the facility from appointing
designated agents unless there is a need for an agent based on criteria
developed by the facility.

If the General Assembly decides to retain the designated agent system, the
remsurance facility should:

Develop and implement written criteria for determining where
designated agents are needed.

Develop criteria concerning the granting of designation to agents who
have been terminated by voluntary insurance companies due to high
financial losses.

Review and recommend statutory changes concerning provisions that
might restrict the appointment of women and minority designated
agents.

Not allow designated agents to earn a higher commission rate than
the rate paid to voluntary agents.

If recoupment fees are not eliminated, the General Assembly should consider:
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Amending §38-77-620(1) to prohibit insurance agents from earning
commissions on recoupment fees.

Correcting technical flaws in the recoupment formula to eliminate
under recoupment.
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Improving
Enforcement of
Traffic and
Compulsory
Insurance Laws

The Highway Patrol and local law enforcement agencies should ensure that
§56-7-12 and §56-1-80 of the South Carolina Code of Laws concerning proof
of insurance are appropriately enforced.

State and local law enforcement agencies should comply with §56-5-6240 of
the South Carolina Code of Laws requiring confiscation of vehicles of
individuals with four or more convictions for DUI or driving under
suspension (DUS).

The Department of Public Safety should develop a record-keeping system for
tracking the number of vehicles confiscated and the disposition of these
vehicles.

The General Assembly should consider implementing a pilot project to allow
law enforcement agencies to contract with private entities to seize the license
tags of individuals who have failed to provide proof of insurance.

The General Assembly should consider amending §56-5-6240 and §56-10-270
of the South Carolina Code of Laws to allow for confiscation of vehicles of
motorists convicted three or more times for driving without insurance, driving
under the influence, or driving under suspension. ‘

The Department of Public Safety should consider re-instituting a sampling
program of vehicle registrations. This sampling should target motorists that
are likely to be uninsured.

The General Assembly should consider enacting legislation to implement a
graduated licensing system in South Carolina.

The General Assembly should consider amending §56-1-40 of the South
Carolina Code of Laws to make 16 the minimum age for obtaining a
restricted driver’s license.

The General Assembly should consider enacting a “zero tolerance” law for
underage drinkers.

The General Assembly should consider amending §56-5-2950 of the South
Carolina Code of Laws to provide that an individual with a blood alcohol
content of .10 or more is deemed to be driving while intoxicated.

The General Assembly should consider enacting legislation to provide for the
administrative suspension of drivers’ licenses for drivers with a blood alcohol
concentration at or above the legal limit.
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Audit Objectives

Members of the General Assembly asked us to conduct a review of the South
Carolina Reinsurance Facility. They were concerned about the rising
recoupment fees and factors affecting insurance premiums charged to South
Carolina motorists. We conducted survey work and met with the primary
audit requestor to better define the objectives of this audit.

Our objectives, with reference to discussion of our findings, are listed as
follows:

i

Determine the advantages and disadvantages of an assigned risk plan
(see p. 2). '

Determine the reasons the reinsurance facility was created in 1974
(see p. 3).

Determine if rate regulation in southeastern states restricts insurance
companies from charging rates based on drivers’ risks (see p. 9).

Determine the reasons the facility does not receive investment income
(see p. 15).

Determine the amount of losses incurred by the facility since recoupment
laws were enacted, the amount of losses paid by recoupment and deficits

created by under recoupment (see p. 17).

Determine whether there are loopholes used by South Carolina drivers to
avoid paying recoupment fees (see p. 18).

Determine the incentives designated carriers have to reduce claims to the
facility (see p. 21).

Review staff oversight of claims and underwrting to the facility
(see p. 24).

Determine the continued need for designated agents (see p. 26).

Review South Carolina policy and statutes concerning unsafe and/or
uninsured drivers and enforcement of these statutes (see p. 35).

Page 57 LAC/96-2-Auto Insurance in South Carolina



Appendix A )
Audit Objectives, Scope and Methodology

Scope and
Methodology

This audit focuses on state laws, regulations, and policies governing the
automobile insurance industry in South Carolina. To conduct this audit, we
examined state laws and regulations governing the manner in which insurance
rates are established. We also reviewed laws governing the South Carolina
Reinsurance Facility. In addition, we reviewed laws goveming the
enforcement of compulsory insurance in South Carolina. We compared South
Carolina’s system for regulating automobile insurance to systems used by
other states.

We examined the reinsurance facility’s records concerning ceded policies. We
also reviewed audits conducted by the reinsurance facility on paid claims, and
the facility’s system for verifying the accuracy of insurance information it
obtains. We reviewed the facility’s audits of premiums paid by companies
ceding policies to the reinsurance facility. We reviewed facility records on
designated agents and financial records concerning losses and expenses that
are paid with recoupment fees. We reviewed the system used to calculate
recoupment fees.

We reviewed information on traffic tickets issued by state and local law
enforcement agencies. We contacted law enforcement organizations to
determine if automobiles were confiscated as required.

We interviewed officials of the South Carolina Department of Insurance, the
South Carolina Reinsurance Facility, the Department of Public Safety, and
government officials from other states.

To achieve some of our objectives, we relied on computer-generated data
maintained by the reinsurance facility. These data were processed by AIPSO,
an organization under contract with the reinsurance facility to process
insurance data for companies conducting business in South Carolina and other
states. AIPSO is located in Rhode Island. We have not tested these data to
determine their reliability. However, when these data are viewed in context
with other relevant data, we believe that the opinions, recommendations, and
conclusions in this report are valid.

This audit was conducted in accordance with generally accepted government
auditing standards.
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Why the Recoupment Formula Does Not Allow
All Losses to be Collected

Section 38-77-600 of the South Carolina Code of Laws requires the
reinsurance facility to collect recoupment fees each year to pay for losses
incurred by the facility in the previous year. However, as described below,
state law prevents the facility from recouping all losses. The following
explains how recoupment fees were established for bodily injury losses in
1994,

A. In 1994, the facility’s losses for bodily injuries were $181,678,621.

B. State law requires the reinsurance facility to divide losses by the total
number of drivers ($181,678,621 + 2,259,466 drivers). This provides an
average recoupment per driver of $80.41.

C. Section 37-77-600 requires that recoupment fees vary per driver
depending on their driving record:

* Drivers with no recoupment points pay 38.6% of the average
recoupment; to determine their fee, $80.41 is multiplied by 38.6%,
resulting in a recoupment fee of $31.04.

* Drivers with points pay the remaining 61.4% of the recoupment
needed. Their fees vary based on the number of recoupment points
they have been assessed.

D. Because there were 1,927,209 drivers with no points, it is expected that
$59,820,567 will be collected (1,927,209 X $31.04).

E. The 332,217 drivers with recoupment points were required to pay 61.4%

of the facility’s losses, which totaled $111,550,673 ($181,678,621 X
61.4%).
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F. The shortfall caused by the flaw in the formula can be calculated as

follows:
1994 Reinsurance Facility Bodily Injury Losses ($181,678,621)
Total Amount Collected from Drivers with no Points $59,820,567
Total Amount Collected from Drivers with Points $111,550,673

To correct this flaw, the formula could be changed to require drivers with no
points to pay 38.6% of the recoupment needed ($181,678,621 X 38.6% =
$70,127,948). However, this change would require drivers with no points to
pay higher recoupment fees. As an alternative, drivers with points could be
required to pay higher fees. However, since drivers with points (15% of all
drivers) already pay the majority of recoupment fees (61.4%), they might
choose not to pay the additional fees and illegally drive without insurance.
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South Carolina Reinsurance Facility

D A GAY P.O. Box 40 = West Columbia, SC 29171-0040
(803) 791-5258

General Manager

January 27, 1997
HAND DELIVERED

Mr. George L. Schroeder, Director
Legislative Audit Council

400 Gervais Street

Columbia, SC 29201

RE: Legislative Audit Council Final Report: Auto Insurance in South Carolina
Dear Mr. Schroeder:

This letter will acknowledge receipt, on behalf of the South Carolina Reinsurance Facility
Governing Board, of the final draft of the Legislative Audit Report referenced above.

Once again, we thank you and your staff for your diligent efforts in attempting to define and
offer potential solutions for the auto insurance issues existing in the South Carolina
marketplace.

In accordance with your request, we are enclosing our comments relative to the final
Legislative Audit Council Report.

Please do not hesitate to contact me should you have any questions concerning our response,

Very truly yours,

D. A. Gay
General Manager

DAG:kap
Enclosure

¢c: Mr. Lee P. Jedziniak, Chairman
S. C. Reinsurance Facility Board of Governors

Mr. Phillip E. Love, Jr., Vice-Chairman
S. C. Reinsurance Facility Board of Governors



APPENDIX C

SOUTH CAROLINA REINSURANCE FACILITY COMMENTS

CHAPTER 1 - HOW DRIVERS IN THE RESIDUAL MARKET BUY INSURANCE IN
SOUTH CAROLINA AND OTHER STATES. Pages 1-2 "What is the Residual
Market?"

CHAPTER 2 - WHY SOUTH CAROLINA’S REINSURANCE FACILITY IS LARGE
AND WHY IT LOSES MONEY. Pages 7-8, "Largest Residual Market in the United
States"

The generic definition of "residual market" as used in this Chapter is synonymous with
"residual market mechanmism" and does not necessarily equate with a true "residual market"
in terms of risk population in South Carolina. The unique set of laws existing in South
Carolina lumps the "nonstandard market" together with the "residual market" so that the size
of the "residual market mechanism" is inflated.

Most states offer insurance companies the option of insuring less desirable "nonstandard”
business at higher premiums which are less than those charged by the residual market
mechanism. If the population of the "residual market mechanism" in other states were
combined with the nonstandard market risks voluntarily written at higher than standard rates,
the total segment of the market insured by both means would approximate the size of the
Facility in South Carolina. The inflexible rating and underwriting system which prevails in
South Carolina, however, provides insurance companies with only two choices: retain the
business voluntarily at standard rates or cede the risk to the Facility at inadequate premium.

For this reason, a meaningful comparison between the population of the Facility with those
residual market mechanisms of other states begs the question. Underwriting and rating
flexibility designed to allow insurers to appropriately price business according to legitimate
risk potential would result in creation of new voluntary markets which would depopulate the
Facility or other residual market mechanism.

CHAPTER 1 - HOW DRIVERS IN THE RESIDUAL MARKET BUY INSURANCE IN
SOUTH CAROLINA AND OTHER STATES. Page 2 "Three types of Residual Market
Systerns"

In describing an "Assigned Risk Plan", the Report omits reference to Plans utilizing
servicing carriers and relies singularly on plans assigning drivers to specific insurance
companies. Many commercial "Assigned Risk Plans" utilize servicing carriers to handle
assigned risks. For example, the South Carolina Commercial Automobile Insurance Plan
operating currently in South Carolina as well as similar plans operating in other states utilize
servicing carriers.
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Many of the criticisms of the Assigned Risk Plan in place prior to 1974, which utilized a
direct assignment system, related to service problems and significant inequities attributable to
direct assignments. Many of these problems could have been eliminated by uniform
treatment of risks placed in the residual market through a servicing carrier(s). Without
suggesting a result, we believe the Report should at least consider the use of servicing
carriers as a means of handling assigned risks and discuss the relative merits or demerits of
the two systems. In a constricted market such as South Carolina, direct assignments may
produce an unwanted, anti-competitive effect by discouraging market re-entry of nonstandard
or voluntary carriers.

CHAPTER 1 - HOW DRIVERS IN THE RESIDUAL MARKET BUY INSURANCE IN
SOUTH CAROLINA AND OTHER STATES. Page 5 "Two Types of Insurance Agents
and Companies in South Carolina"

The Report erroneously states that the Facility determines the "number” and "location” of
designated agents. In fact, the Facility determines only whether an applicant meets the
statutorily enumerated eligibility criteria. It has no control over the number of qualifying
applicants. A designated agent’s location is set as that location the agent occupied prior to
his application. Only changes in location after appointment are to be approved by the
Facility.

CHAPTER 2 - WHY SOUTH CAROLINA’S REINSURANCE FACILITY IS LARGE
AND WHY IT LOSES MONEY. Page 14 "Inadequate Incentives to Minimize Claims"

CHAPTER 3 - HOW MANAGEMENT OF THE REINSURANCE FACILITY HAS
CONTRIBUTED TO ITS HIGH LOSSES. Page 22 "The Reinsurance Facility has not
implemented a system to reward companies for controlling claims costs"

The Facility shares the Report’s concern that payments to servicing carriers based upon a
percentage of claims paid may produce a financial incentive for claim overpayment. It is for
this very reason that the claims activities of servicing carriers are under constant scrutiny.
Thus far, Facility management has found no evidence of claim overpayments or improper
claims handling by the servicing carriers that would support any conclusion that a financial
incentive is producing any claim overpayments by designated carriers.

The language of the Report at page 22, that "[c]laims paid by designated companies have
been higher than claims paid on policies ceded by voluntary companies,” implies that the
absence of a financial incentive for designated companies to control claims costs has
produced higher claim payments and losses. This is simply not true. 7o the contrary, the
average payment by designated companies were lower, not higher, than the average claim
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payment made by voluntary carriers during the FY 94-95. The "South Carolina Reinsurance
Facility Claims Summary Report, FY 94-95," a copy of which was provided to the
Legislative Audit Council, yields the following comparative claims payment data:

AVERAGE PER CLAIM COST BY COVERAGE (FY 94-95

Type of Carrier BI Claims PD Claims Collision Other
{Reporting Method}
VOLUNTARY CARRIERS
() By Claimant $ 8,015 $1,952 $2,506 $93
(6) By Accident $ 6,378 $1,892 $2,193 $ 667

DESIGNATED CARRIERS

(a) By Claimant $35,216 $1,830 $2,175 $ 680
DESIGNATED AND
VOLUNTARY CARRIERS $5.821 $ 1,870 $2,200 $ 689
COMEINED

As the Report correctly notes, voluntary companies ceding policies to the Facility have no
financial incentive to overpay claims. Because designated companies actually pay less per
claim than voluntary companies on ceded business, it would be erroneous to infer from the
higher combined loss ratios cited in the Report that claim overpayments are occurring.
Rather, it is the higher incidence of accidents and claims involving designated insureds that is
the reason for the higher loss ratios on designated business. For example, with respect to
bodily injury claims in FY 94-95, whether considered by claimant or per accident, 54% of
the total reported claims came from insureds written by servicing carriers. This fact is even
more remarkable when considering that more than two-thirds of the risks ceded to the
Facility during the period were produced by voluntary companies.

Finally, the Report overlooks the role of the claims audit in policing claims payments and
serving as a disincentive for claims overpayment. Servicing carriers are subjected to annual
claims audits. The standards imposed upon servicing carriers by the Facility for claims
purposes are at least equal to, and most probably stricter, than the claims standards imposed
by voluntary carriers on their retained business. The reports of all claims audits for both
voluntary and designated carriers were made available to the LAC staff and demonstrate that
there is no appreciable difference in the handling of designated versus voluntary claims.
There is no evidence that designated claims are routinely overpaid or handled differently than
voluntary claims.

CHAPTER 2 - WHY SOUTH CAROLINA’S REINSURANCE FACILITY IS LARGE
AND WHY IT LOSES MONEY. Page 15, "Individuals Who Drive Without Insurance”
and Page 18, "lllegal Actions Used to Avoid Recoupment Fees"
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CHAPTER 4 - WAYS TO IMPROVE ENFORCEMENT OF INSURANCE LAWS AND
INCREASE TRAFFIC SAFETY. Page 35, "Uninsured Motorists"

The Facility agrees with the Report’s observations that large numbers of drivers are
increasingly operating uninsured motor vehicles. Since 1974, insurance companies have
collected a $1 fee from every vehicle insured and transferred these funds to the DPS or its
predecessor agency. These funds, which total more than $40 million since 1974, were
earmarked for enforcement of the compulsory insurance provision of theé law. We have seen
little evidence that these funds have been used as directed. We are unaware of any
accounting that has ever been made to assure how these funds have been spent or to judge the
efficacy of the expenditures to achieve enforcement. The Report fails to address these issues
and misses an opportunity to evaluate DPS’s use, if any, of these earmarked funds.

CHAPTER 2 - WHY SOUTH CAROLINA’S REINSURANCE FACILITY IS LARGE
AND WHY IT LOSES MONEY. Page 14 "Commissions Paid to Agents on Recoupment
Fees"

We agree with the Report’s conclusion that if recoupment fees were not considered
"premium"” for purposes of calculating commissions, substantial savings on recoupment fees
could be effected. However, it is unfair not to recognize the initial reason for the treatment
of recoupment fees as "premium" for purposes of commissions and taxes. In 1987, when the
statutory provision for recoupment fees was adopted, there was a corresponding, mandated
reduction in premiums to remove the rating load for past Facility assessments. See Act No.
166 of 1987, Section 6 and SCID Bulletin 4-87 (June 12, 1987). The shift of prospective
premiums from the base rate to a retrospective recoupment fee was thought by the legislature
to justify the continued treatment of recoupment fees as premiums. The Report does not
address this legislative basis for providing for commissions and taxes on recoupment
collections.

Additional savings could also be effected if recoupment fees were not considered "premium”
for purposes of premium taxes. It seems unfair to treat recoupment fees, which are in
essence the shortfall in premium adequacy, as premjum for one purpose and not the other.

CHAPTER 3 - HOW MANAGEMENT OF THE REINSURANCE FACILITY HAS
CONTRIBUTED TO ITS HIGH LOSSES. Page 22 "The reinsurance facility has not
implemented a system to reward companies for controlling claims costs"

The Facility has repeatedly examined proposed systems which would provide financial
incentives to servicing carriers for controlling claim costs, only to conclude that there exists
no logical or equitable basis for establishing or applying such incentives. One servicing

Page C-4



APPENDIX C
SCRYF Comments
Januvary 27, 1997

carrier’s book of business may differ materially from that of another, thus making uniform
incentive criteria based on loss ratios impossible to establish. The 1991 subcommitiee
studying the matter was unable to reach a conclusion on this issue. The Bid Committee
appointed by the Chief Insurance Commissioner also struggled with this question without any
success. Finally, the servicing carrier bids under the State Procurement Process have locked
the Facility into the present compensation system for a five year contract period.

Nonetheless, the effect of the bidding process has produced a substantial savings on the
amounts paid in fees to servicing carriers, without increasing average claims payouts. The
primary control on claims costs appropriately remains the claims audit process.

CHAPTER 3 - HOW MANAGEMENT OF THE REINSURANCE FACILITY HAS
CONTRIBUTED TO ITS HIGH LOSSES. Page 22 "Bid Process Implemented in 1994"

The Report states that, in certain instances, voluntary company expenses are reimbursed at a
higher rate than payments to designated companies. This observation is erroneous since the
percentage of written premiums expense allowance reimbursed to voluntary companies
consists of all underwriting and claims expenses, including allocated loss adjustment
expenses. Servicing carriers, in addition to reimbursement of expenses at the bid percentage
rates, are also reimbursed the actual doHar value of allocated loss adjustment expenses.

Voluntary carriers are reimbursed at a rate equal to the percentage of written premiums
reflected by the carrier’s actual expense component for its voluntary, retained business, not to
exceed the calculated industry average expense component. It is unfair to suggest that peither
the Facility nor anyone else analyzes the expense component of voluntary carriers to
determine whether the expense reimbursement is excessive or can be reduced. A voluntary
carrier’s expense component is subjected to rigid scrutiny by the South Carolina Insurance
Department in determining whether to approve the expense component of the carrier’s rate
filing. In no event is any voluntary carrier reimbursed any expenses in excess of that
anticipated by its filed expense load, capped by the all-industry average expense load.

CHAPTER 3 - HOW MANAGEMENT OF THE REINSURANCE FACILITY HAS
CONTRIBUTED TO ITS HIGH LOSSES. Page 23 "Size of Claims Staff"

Facility reviews of claims operations focus on two criteria: (1) the quality of the work
product; and (2) the span of control by supervisory staff. The Facility does not micro-
manage a company’s claims staffing decisions. So long as these two requirements are met,
no further inquiry into the efficacy of a company’s claims staff should be required.

We take issue with the statement that "audit procedures have not been developed to examine
the adequacy of claims staff.” The entire claims audit process is designed to determine
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whether claims handling by both voluntary and servicing carriers is adequate and within
industry standards. The Facility’s Claims Handling Guidelines represent standards at least
equal to, if not in fact higher, than those standards necessary to assure quality claims
handling. In the final analysis, the level of experience or expertise of a claims staff is best
judged by the quality of its claims handling. These claims audits are vsed to determine
whether the company’s claims process is deficient.

CHAPTER 3 - HOW MANAGEMENT OF THE REINSURANCE FACILITY HAS
CONTRIBUTED TO ITS HIGH LOSSES. Page 24 "Ineligible Claim Paid by Facility"

The Report unduly criticizes the results of a contested appeal involving a singular loss,
suggesting that the loss should not have been borne by the Facility or passed to other
commercial automobile insurance risks through increased premiums.

First, the cited case was extremely complex and involved equities not discussed by the
Report. The claim itself was not "ineligible"; rather, the policy form used to write the risk
was incorrect. The specific risk was written on a "garage policy" form when a "commercial
auto" form should have been used. However, the loss would have been payable regardless of
the policy form used.

Second, the specific risk in the example had been erroneously written on a "garage” policy
form because the policy application misrepresented that the risk had no salvage operations.
The servicing carrier’s treatment of the risk and choice of policy form was correct, based
upon the application information. However, investigation revealed that the servicing carrier
had no knowledge of the misrepresentation at the time it issued the policy and the servicing
carrier is not implicated in the fraud. Administrative proceedings have been instituted
involving this case and are presently pending a hearing before the Governing Board. It
would be inappropriate to comment further given its present posture.

The May 1996 policy change referred to by the Report represented a position statement that a
risk written improperly on a garage form that was otherwise a "mandated” risk eligible to be
written on a commercial auto form should be reimbursed only to the extent reimbursement
would be allowed if the risk were properly written on the correct form.

CHAPTER 3 - HOW MANAGEMENT OF THE REINSURANCE FACILITY HAS
CONTRIBUTED TO ITS HIGH LOSSES. Page 25 "No Reimbursement or Penalty
Required for Premium Undercharges"

The calculation of premium charges often involves the discretionary exercise of underwriting
judgment in the application of manual rules and secondary rating characteristics. We agree
that premium undercharges produce lost revenues which might otherwise offset losses.
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However, the purpose of underwriting audits is to encourage consistent application of manual
rules so as to assure standard pricing practices. It is unreasonable to expect zero tolerance
for errors given the subjective element inherent in the underwriting process. The
undercharges cited in the Report lack materiality, do not substantially impact operating results
and represent only a minor portion of the total premium collected. The undercharges
detected in the private passenger premium audits during the period January, 1994 to March,
1996 represent only 0.003 of 1% of the premiums collected during the period. The
undercharges detected in the commercial premium audits during the same period represent
only 0.249 of 1% of the premiums collected during the period. In combination, the
undercharges represent only 0.023 of 1% of all premiums collected.

CHAPTER 3 - HOW MANAGEMENT OF THE REINSURANCE FACILITY HAS
CONTRIBUTED TO ITS HIGH LOSSES. Pages 26-28 "History of Designated Agents"
and "Market Access"

Except in cases involving applications for Limited Private Passenger Only ("LPPO")
designations after 1990, the Facility is not authorized by law to give any consideration to
market accessibility in the appointment of designated agents.

As to LPPO designations, the Facility accepts as justified the Report’s criticism that adequate
criteria for determining the sufficiency of "market outlets” is not consistently evident in its
consideration of previous applications for limited designated status. This inconsistency,
however, was not the result of the Governing Board’s failure to develop criteria for
measuring market accessibility; rather, the inconsistent results stem from a division of
opinion among Board members as to whether the lack of "market outlets" should be viewed
from an insured’s perspective or from the perspective of the displaced agent. On November
6, 1996, the Governing Board established a policy that the adequacy and accessibility of
"market outlets" should be viewed from the insured’s perspective. Accordingly, the criticism
noted in the Report has already been rectified and uniform application of this criteria is
expected in the future.

CHAPTER 3 - HOW MANAGEMENT OF THE REINSURANCE FACILITY HAS
CONTRIBUTED TO ITS HIGH L.OSSES. Page 29 "Agents Designated After They
Were Terminated by Voluntary Companies"

State law, as supported by judicial decision, legislative history and administrative
interpretation, does not permit the Facility to disqualify an applicant for "full" designation
based upon the unprofitability of an applicant’s book of business while a voluntary agent or
the existence of other market outlets in the area of the applicant’s business location. See
Mungo v. Smith, 289 S.C. 560, 347 S.E.2d 514 (1986)(holding that the Facility has no
authority to limit the application of Section 38-77-590 to only applicants demonstrating "want
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of access" in particular areas when the agent demonstrates an alternative statutory basis as
having lost his agency contract with insurance companies by reason of the Insurance Reform
Act). See also Act No. 166 of 1987, SECTION 28 (amending Act No. 1177 to eliminate an
agent’s termination for unprofitability as a disqualification for appointment) and S.C. Ins.
Dept. Bulletin No. 5-87 (August 7, 1987) at pages 15-16 (interpreting Act No. 166,
SECTION 28 to remove unprofitability as a basis for disqualification as a designated agent
and limiting the disqualification to only "illegal" breaches of the agency contract).

Whatever may be the wisdom of the Report’s observations concerning appointment of agents
terminated because of high loss ratios or in areas serviced by other agencies, the Facility is
not empowered by law to apply a disqualification contrary to legislative, judicial and
administrative directives.

CHAPTER 3 - HOW MANAGEMENT OF THE REINSURANCE FACILITY HAS
CONTRIBUTED TO ITS HIGH LOSSES. Page 30, "Transfer of Designation"

The Report makes no observations and draws no conclusions as to the transfer of designation
other than cite two examples: the adoption of a 70 year old agent by a 35 year old man and
the 1986 transfer of designation from an agent convicting of defranding the federal
government. The description of these events should be modified as follows.

As to the adoption situation, the Facility’s Governing Board, after a contested hearing, denied
the transfer based upon the adoption. The matter has been appealed by the designated agent
to the Circuit Court and is pending resolution there of the legal questions involved. The
Governing Board in its opinion took the position that an adult adoption as a means of
acquiring a designation was not authorized by the statute.

As to the 1986 transfer by the convicted felon, the Facility staff has instituted an
administrative hearing before the Governing Board for the agent’s wife to show cause why
the designation should not be revoked. The basis of the hearing is staff’s claim that the
former agent has not maintained his agreement to disassociate himself from the business.
The action is pending and further comment would be inappropriate.

CHAPTER 3 - HOW MANAGEMENT OF THE REINSURANCE FACILITY HAS
CONTRIBUTED TO ITS HIGH LOSSES. Page 31, "Few women and minorities are
designated agents"

It is difficult to understand how or why these comments relate to a reduction in Facility
losses, particularly since the preceding pages are directed to criticism of the Facility’s
appointing agents at all. Assuming, however, these comments are relevant to reduction of
losses, the following response is warranted.
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No applicant representing any identifiable minority group meeting the statutory criteria of
Section 38-77-590(c) has been declined appointment as a designated agent by the Facility.
There are no laws restricting appointment of minorities as designated agents and the Facility
is not responsible for legislative changes in the qualification criteria and the timing of
applications by minority applicants. To the contrary, there are a number of minorities
serving as designated agents at the present time.

In 1987, the legislature provided a three-year window of opportunity for minorities to apply
for designation with a waiver of the requirement that the applicant be the owner and principal
of an agency licensed to write and writing property and casualty insurance. See Act No. 166
of 1987, Section 29. Legislative history reveals this provision, which was added by the
Conference Committee, was designed to relax the requirements for designation so minorities
who had served as licensed agents but who were not otherwise the owner or principals in the
licensed agency could qualify for appointment. Appropriate publicity was given to this
provision in two Department Bulletins: S.C.1.D. Bulletin 4-87 (June 12, 1987) and again in
S.C.I.D. Bulletin 5-87 (August 7, 1987). During the three year period, no minorities or
other persons cither applied for designation or sought application of the waiver.

The Facility rejects as unfounded any implication that it is responsible for any discriminatory
application of the law. To the contrary, it has consistently applied the statutory eligibility
criteria even-handedly, without reference to the applicant’s gender or race. The Facility is
fully aware of, and faithful to, its moral and legal obligations in this regard.

CHAPTER 3 - HOW MANAGEMENT OF THE REINSURANCE FACILITY HAS
CONTRIBUTED TO ITS HIGH LOSSES. Page 33, "Verification of Data on Ceded
Policies"

All financial data and reports submitted by member companies are subject to validation and
verification by AIPSO, the Facility’s central processor. Financial data is verified in three
different ways.

First, AIPSO reconciles financial data on policies as reported by member companies with
financial data reported by the member companies on their Annual Statements as filed under
oath and with independent certifications with the Insurance Department.

Second, AIPSO performs "reasonability” checks on all member company’s quarterly reports
of data to the Facility. Current quarterly report data is compared with data reported during
prior quarters to identify any statistically significant deviation in data reported. When an
anomaly appears, the member company is contacted and required to verify the data submitted
or to provide an appropriate data correction.

Third, AIPSO compares member company quarterly reports of data on ceded policies with
actual ceded data reported monthly. Any difference in quarterly reported data from monthly
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cession reports is questioned and independent verification is obtained to support the data
reported or the member company must submit a data correction.

In combination, these three validation and verification measures provide a reasonable,
sufficient basis for verifying financial data on ceded policies.
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Department of Insurance

1612 Marion Street DAVID M. BEASLEY
Columbia, South Carolina 29201 GOVERNOR
Mailing Address: LEE P. JEDZINIAK
P. ©. Box 100105, Columbia, S.C. 29202-3105 DIRECTOR OF INSURANCE

Telephone: (803)737-6160

January 28, 1997

Hand-Delivered

The Honorable George 1. Schroeder
Director ‘
State of South Carolina

Legislative Audit Council

400 Gervais Street

Columbia, South Carolina 29201

Dear George:

The State of South Carolina Department of Insurance has received and reviewed the
Legislative Audit Council’s Auto Insurance in South Carolina Report to this State’s General
Assembly. The Department of Insurance believes that any such well-intentioned recommendations
and findings can only benefit the public of this State, and, therefore, welcomes any recommendations
concerning the operations of the South Carolina Reinsurance Facility.

The Department of Insurance also commends you and your staff for your efforts and your
ability to translate complex insurance issues into an understandable Report. Please be assured that,
as the Legislature begins to review or to implement your recommended changes, the Department of
Insurance will continue to assist in any way.

Naturally, if you have any further questions or comments in this matter or, as always, if I can
help you in any way, then let me know. My office telephone number is (803) 737-6212. My office
telecopier facsimile transmission number is (803) 737-6229.

Sincerely yours,

LPJ:pe:
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South Carolina Department of Public Safety

Office of the Director

January 27, 19887

Mr. George H, Schroder, Director
Legiglative Audit Council

400 Cervalg Street

Columbia, South Carolina 29201

Dear Mr. Schroder:

Thank you for the opportunity to respond to the LAC Recommendations
related to the review of automobile insurance in South Carclina.
Attached are comments related to the specific recommendations that
pertain to the Department of Public Safety.

Please let me know if you have quegtions regarding our comments or
- if you need additional information.

Sincerely,

William E. Gunn
Interim Director

WEG/ibm

Enclosures

5410 Broad River Road, Columbia, SC 28210-4026



DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY
RESPONSE TO LAC RECOMMENDATIONS
JANUARY 27, 1997

Recommendation:

The Highway Patrol and local law enforcement agencies should ensure
that 8§856-7-12 and §56-1-80 of the South Carolina Code of Laws
concerning proof of insurance are appropriately enforced.

§56-7-12 states that a law enforcement officer who issues a
traffic ticket for a moving violation may give the wviolator
a form to verify liability coverage. The owner or operator
must return the completed and verified form to the law
enforcement agency that issued the form.

Any changes to §56-7-12 that requires the mandatory insurance
of the insurance verification form would create an enormous
problem on resources. Additionally, completion of this form
on the roadside would increase the time spent exposed to
traffic and the violator which is an officer safety issue. DPS
does enforce verification of liability insurance through FR-
10's whenever there is a traffic accident and conducts follow-
up through the Administrative Enforcement Officers.

§56-1-80 wag amended to delete the penalty for failure to
return verification from the insurance company. Additionally,
the amendment requires the customer to comply with the
requirement at the time they visit a DMV branch office rather
than sending a form by mail.

From a customer's point of view this creates frustration,
additional trips to DMV offices, and longer DMV office lines.
2 number of states use self certification insurance coverage.
Discussion with representatives from the 8. C. Department of
Insurance and the Insurance industry led DPS to the following
developments:

- The redesign of driver's license renewal notice to
include a reminder that a proof of insurance is
required when renewing a license

- The vredesign of driver's license application to
include the insurance company name and policy
number
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- The development of a process to sample and verify
insurance information. Those found not to be in
compliance are to be penalized through the
"falsification of affidavits" statutes.

Recommendation:

State and local law enforcement agencies should comply with §56-5-
6240 of the South Carolina Code of Laws requiring confiscation of
vehicles of individuals with four or more convictions for DUS or
DUT.

The Department of Public Safety should develop a record-keeping
system for tracking the number of vehicles confiscated and the
disposition of these vehicles.

DPS concurs with this recommendation. Guidelines were sent
out to DPS Troopers throughout the state in November 1996.
A computer database system will be established to keep more
formal records.

Recommendation:

The General Assembly may wish to consider implementing a pilot
project to allow law enforcement agencies to contract with private
entities to seize the license tags of individuals who have failed
to provide proof of insurance.

DPS concurs with this recommendation. A quality team has been
commigsioned to develop this process.

Recommendation:

The General Assembly may wish to consider amending §56-5-6240 and
§56-10-270 of the South Carolina Code of Laws to allow for
confiscation of vehicles of motorists convicted of third offense
driving without insurance and for motorists convicted three or more
times of driving under the influence or driving under suspension.

DPS concurs with the recommendation.
Recommendation:
The Department of Public Safety should consider re-instituting a
sampling program of vehicle registrations. This sampling should
target motorists that are likely to be uninsured.

DPS concurs with this recommendation.
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Recommendation:
The General Assembly should consider enacting legislation to
implement a graduated licensing system in South Carolina.

DPS concursg that the concept of graduated licensing can be
very effective. However, the structuring of components needs
to be monitored carefully.

Presently, according to the American Association of Motor
Vehicle Administrators (ARMVA), there is no state that has a
comprehensive GDL system.

Eight states have three cowponents of the GDI: as outlined by
the Naticnal Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) and
four, one being South Carolina, have two-tiered licensing.
Currently, South Carolina has one of the highly recommended
components of such a system, (nighttime driving restrictions).

Recommendation:

The General Assembly may wish to amend §56-1-40 of the South
Carolina Code of Laws to make 16 the minimum age for obtaining a
restricted driver’s license.

DES concurs with this recommendation.

Recommendation:
The General Assembly may wish to consider enacting a "zero
tolerance” law for underage drinkers.

CPS concure with this recommendation.

Recommendation:

The General Assembly may wish to consider amending §56-5-2950 of
the South Carolina Code of Laws to provide that an individual with
a blood alcohol content of .10 or more is deemed to be driving
while Intoxicated.

DPS concurs with this recommendation.
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Recommendation:

The General Asgembly may wish to comsider enacting legislation to
provide for the administrative suspension of drivers’ licenses for
drivers with a blood alcohol concentration at or above the legal

Iimit.

Currently, South Carolina does not immediately confiscate the
driver's license of an individual refusing to take a
breathalyzer test. However, if a driver refuses, he/she is
charged with implied consent and is automatically suspended
for 90 days once law enforcement sends the refusal slip to the
Driver Record unit of DMV. A regular class license is
suspended for 90 days and a Commercial Driving license (CDL)
is suspended for one year. The driver may still be charged
with DUI after the initial susgpension if convicted in court.

The administrative suspension co¢f drivers' licenses may
duplicate current practices and create additional
administrative time.
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